We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just missed”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have just spent four days at this hotel. The room was on the second floor with a sea view and I must say it is one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in.The staff were extremely polite and efficient .the few things that let it down were the free wifi, which was almost none existent and the television only having bizarre channels.The tea and coffee in the room was also bizarre that they only put biscuits for one when there was clearly two people in the room. I will be returning next year I hope they have sorted these niggly problems out and I think it would also be beneficial if they reduced the price of their menu, to get more customers in to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

great comfort and nice class for the average traveller and more for the up-classic one. the food was excellent and service was perfect ,Nice decor (naval theme ) in the main lobby, butiful ship sculputre

Room Tip: its close to the habord attractions , ferry and hover craft comapny if you wnat to cross over to fra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAVAL107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

my Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in August and it was worth every penny, lovely rooms, friendly staff and a gret breakfast need i say more. the bar staff where friendly and the drinks in the hotel bar are average price.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

After my last visit in May when I was not charged for parking - they have subsequently changed this system.
The system used to consist of parking, giving your registration number details to reception and your parking was free as long as you were dining in their restaurant. You now have to park, walk to reception, pay them £5 for a permit, walk back to your car to display it, then walk back to the hotel restaurant to have your meal.
As you leave they give you £2 back - therefore charging you £3 to park you car.

Who on earth devised such a ridiculous and customer unfriendly system??!! If I am dining in their restaurant I don't expect to be charged to park in their car park or expected to walk unnecessarily to and from my car and the hotel.
My return visit was only a few weeks after my last visit and review. I wanted to update others about this at a much earlier stage but TA has a policy of not allowing you to review the same establishment twice within a three month time-span. So this was the first opportunity I had.

They have really shot themselves in the foot. I shall not be returning or recommending

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arthur_Tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here last weekend, when we arrived the young lady on reception was very good. We arrived before check in time however she gave us our car park permit. We then went for a walk around until check in. There was a kite festival on that weekend it was brill. We then went back to the hotel and had lunch in the duke's bar, we had the veggie sharing platter. It was excellent. We then went to check in to be told that they could not find our booking that we made with BOOKING.COM. However they did still have 1 room left, which for us was an upgrade from the type of room we had booked. Room (224).We had booked a sea view room. This room is one of they best room's (126), we could not believe the size of the room so much space and lovely views on both side and front windows of the sea. We were only charged the same price as what the (224) would of cost us. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, there is some thing for everyone, the staff at this hotel can not do enough for you, they are all so helpful. Thank you for a great stay keep up the great work that you all do.

Room Tip: Room 126 is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was recently privileged to hold my 70th Birthday dinner on HMS Victory, Lord Nelson's Flagship at the battle of Trafalgar. I organised accommodation for seventy guests at the Queens Hotel and I am delighted to say that I have received good reports from all.
I did visit the hotel on two prior occasions to organise accommodation and must say I received their full cooperation. I should add the hotel did have a function of its own on the same day and from what I obseverd everyone appeared happy.
The hotel is ideally situated close to the waterfront at Southsea with its own well kept garden area which on a summer's day was most pleasant with drinks from the hotel bar. The hotel has two bars and both were serviced by very friendly staff. We had breakfast in the main dining area which offered an excellent choice of hot and cold food.
Dinner in the side bar was very pleasent and the food was good. The menu was not extensive but close by in the adjacent streets there were many eating places to meet every demand.
Rooms were in keeping with a hotel dating back to the grand Edwardian era but modernised to a very reasonable standard. The hotel foyer is very impressive with grandeur of a bygone age.
The management s to be congratulated in its choice of staff all of whom went out of their way to be helpful.
It should be remembered that this is a period hotel which in areas is showing signs of its age. Having said that I believe I received very good value for money and would have no hestitation in my recommendation for the hotel as a short to medium stay in a very pleasant part of town. It is not a modern poncy hotel but one reflecting a time when style and service counted.
I would certainly return to the Queens on a return visit from New Zealand.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were holidaying in Southsea and called in here for a late lunch. The hotel needs a serious amount of money spent on it, but we ordered light bites from the menu, sat in the garden and had the best afternoon. The food was plentiful, tasted wonderful and was a complete surprise given the hotel, we were delighted. It was coupled by great service and sunshine all afternoon long, we stayed for over three hours over lunch, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £72 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing