We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pot luck”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pot luck”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Have stayed here many times and it is the luck of the draw which hotel you see. Sometimes it is friendly and hospitable, other times the staff can be offhand and even hostile. The site is wonderful which is what brings us back. The food isn't very good and the public rooms could do with a little attention. It has something about it though that keeps drawing us back. They do need to do something about the staff attitude though!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    268
    166
    111
    73
See reviews for
203
346
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just back from a lovely Sunday lunch at the carvery. Drink in the bar first overlooking the sea then excellent food accompanied by very friendly professional service from all involved. I highly recommend the Eton Mess!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthseaRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Yet again a lovely as near to home made as you could get Sunday lunch in the lovely Queens Hotel dining room. Meat cooked to perfection and plenty of it. Spot on roasties and Yorkshire puds. Good choice of veg and accompaniments. Staff are always very friendly and pleased to see us. The chaps behind the carvery itself are particularly helpful and cheery. Although just slightly more than some of the other Carveries in Portsmouth the Queens is our family's choice because of the lovely food and relaxed and civilised environment. No queuing for absolute ages and joy of joys you can book a table as opposed to so many places nowadays where you have to go and take pot luck waiting for a table for ages, not much fun when you are there for a special occasion. Well done Queens Hotel!,

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Moneypenny98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We visited the restaurant a second time for a family get together. The Sunday roast was delicious, the atmosphere with live music was great and the service in the bar was superb, and good in the restaurant. A hiccup with the bill could have blighted the occasion but was dealt with quickly and professionally by the restaurant manager Melanie. Would recommend this venue for a family Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ginny-D37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stay here at least twice a year. Staff are great, friendly and nothing is too much trouble - just ask. An elegant hotel, with a lovely lounge to sit and read the papers. It may be just a bit jaded in areas, but, they are working on many improvements including the freshly cooked breakfast, tea and toast. The hotel is spotlessly clean and spectacular views from a balcony room in bad or good weather. Good location for visiting all the attractions.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Ate here on a rainy and cold afternoon and couldn't have wished for a nicer meal. Meat was cooked perfectly and very tasty. The staff were all very attentive and welcoming - a great little find and I'm sure we'll be back!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed one night in the Queens Hotel. The exterior of the hotel and the communal areas are impressive and full of character. We were allocated room 247 which had a sea view, was very clean but was quite small and the decor was a little dated. The room had the smallest bathroom I have EVER seen but we were only staying one night so made do. Every member of staff we encountered during our stay was friendly, professional and very attentive. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant on Saturday evening. The choices on the menu were limited but everything that we ordered was lovely and well presented. The waiter was excellent and because my son has a nut allergy kindly checked with the chef that the ingredients in the dessert were suitable. Breakfast was very good. Tea, coffee and toast were served as soon as we sat down. There was a good selection of cereals, fruit, pastries and yoghurts on offer and hot breakfast items were freshly cooked to order. The hotel is in a very good location and we were able to walk to Gunwharf Quays in approximately 15 minutes. We will definitely make a return visit but will make a request not to have room 247 because the extremely tiny bathroom made me feel claustrophobic!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
649 reviews
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing