We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My daughter had her wedding reception here last month and I have to say a huge thank you to all of the staff for making her day exceptional.
From the cleaner to the manager, all staff could not do enough to help. I stayed here for 2 nights: my room was well presented, very clean and comfortable, not to mention spacious. Our breakfast was included for both nights and the selection of food on offer was vast and of a high quality.
My daughter chose to have an afternoon tea for her wedding breakfast - this was truly delicious. Again the selection and quality was impressive with many guests commenting that it was unique and memorable. Staff during the wedding reception worked so hard and were attentive and polite all day. Tarik the manager ensured the day ran smoothly and had the best hospitality skills I've seen in a long time.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone and intend on returning soon to enjoy more of the hotel's food and facilities.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Request a sea view...stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    257
    160
    109
    70
See reviews for
200
331
35
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Although originally fully booked on the night we wanted to stay, we managed to get a room in the end. Quite a small room , but fantastic sea views, very clean and great hot drinks tray!
Very quiet at night time and slept very well, would definitely return on future visits to Portsmouth. The Queens would always be our first choice. We had family members stay before also, with a very splendid large room and balcony! we also got engaged on this weekend :)

Room Tip: Rooms vary - some large and some quite small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stay at The Queens every year for our anniversary and love the period styling. The staff are A1 and happily do everything they can to make you feel comfortable. This was our 5th year and we will be returning. Thank you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I gave a 5 for the room though we did not stay this time. This is based on a previous stay. We wanted to have breakfast with 4 friends after an early registry office wedding which we booked a week earlier. We expected to be a part of the normal breakfast service. When we arrived we discovered that a special table had been set in a private dining room with full pomp and ceremony and dedicated service. We could not have asked for more. Made our day. Thank you Queens Hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Queens hotel for a friends wedding reception. The staff were polite and couldn't have been more helpful. We had our 2 year old son with us, who was catered for and the staff were brilliant with him. We had a lovely big room with amazing views of the seafront. The food provided at the reception was lovely, I would definitely go back for more. The Queens hotel is in the centre of Southsea near the seafront, so there is plenty to do nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, those rooms are further from the residential streets and are therefore quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our son was married at a nearby church and had his reception at Queens Hotel. We all had a brilliant time and the staff could not have been more helpful in making it such a great day. The food for the reception was really good and the service was excellent. We stayed for two nights and had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the sea. This hotel has a lot of charm and again the staff are great, really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room with balcony was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having been invited to a Golden annarvirsity we were pleasantly surprised, the staff lead by Melonie was polite and worked hard to to make the occasion a success.

The following day we had Sunday lunch it was excellent value.

Don't miss out on this one

Room Tip: All rooms were booked which explains the popularity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing