We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for a Wedding Reception” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
St Albans
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Wedding Reception”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I wanted to commit to writing my sincere and heartfelt thanks to the Queens Hotel & staff for providing a magnificent backdrop and service at my daughters wedding.

While of course the day was in itself very special to me I was very impressed with the service provided by the team which was seamless, friendly and professional.

In particular a very special thank you to the bar team who were incredibly efficient, friendly and understanding.

We stayed at the hotel and the rooms were very spacious and comfotable.

Very impressed all round.

Room Tip: We had 241 overlooking the Solent - fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    251
    157
    109
    70
See reviews for
195
326
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

May 17th 2014, my best friend was married at the hotel.
The staff put on a fabulous event.
At the end of the night sadly I lost an expensive and sentimental bracelet, after calling on the Sunday with no avail I was sure it had been found by a stranger and kept.
On May 23rd I had a phone call from the hotel to say the bracelet had been found in the car park and was in the safe ready for me to collect.
It's hard to have faith in people these days, so this has truly restored my belief that there are good, honest people out there who do a fantastic job and care about others.
Thank you so much for a wonderful wedding and customer service that I will never forget.
Fantastic hotel and staff :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babyang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Me and my Wife have recently stayed at the Queens Hotel. The facilities were superb, the staff were friendly and very welcoming.
The hotel was very clean and tidy and i can say that it was a very memorable experience and we will be visiting again soon.
I would like to say thankyou to all the staff for for a great experience and rate this hotel 10/10

Mr P Hatch

Room Tip: Enchanting Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The Queens Hotel on the Monday evening with my partner I have to say that the room was amazing very big lots of storage space the bathroom was very clean. The staff were very helpful and nice. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends and my partner and I would stay here again. Oh and the sea view was stunning.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elsanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My daughter had her wedding reception here last month and I have to say a huge thank you to all of the staff for making her day exceptional.
From the cleaner to the manager, all staff could not do enough to help. I stayed here for 2 nights: my room was well presented, very clean and comfortable, not to mention spacious. Our breakfast was included for both nights and the selection of food on offer was vast and of a high quality.
My daughter chose to have an afternoon tea for her wedding breakfast - this was truly delicious. Again the selection and quality was impressive with many guests commenting that it was unique and memorable. Staff during the wedding reception worked so hard and were attentive and polite all day. Tarik the manager ensured the day ran smoothly and had the best hospitality skills I've seen in a long time.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone and intend on returning soon to enjoy more of the hotel's food and facilities.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Request a sea view...stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Although originally fully booked on the night we wanted to stay, we managed to get a room in the end. Quite a small room , but fantastic sea views, very clean and great hot drinks tray!
Very quiet at night time and slept very well, would definitely return on future visits to Portsmouth. The Queens would always be our first choice. We had family members stay before also, with a very splendid large room and balcony! we also got engaged on this weekend :)

Room Tip: Rooms vary - some large and some quite small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stay at The Queens every year for our anniversary and love the period styling. The staff are A1 and happily do everything they can to make you feel comfortable. This was our 5th year and we will be returning. Thank you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing