We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites........”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Always such an immense pleasure to visit The Queens. We love that Melanie and her team are so welcoming and pleased to see us! Even remember our names and with being so busy all the time. Honestly is the best service we know and our favourite roast!!! Thank you once again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank bloomwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Queen's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a shame ! was very expectant of this Hotel after speaking with a lovely lady and booking dinner on a saturday evening early at 6.30 for a party of 14 without actually staying over night this establishment was seen in high regard by the family as my late Mother used to take tea there during the war years and said how fabulous it made her feel ? yes its a beautiful building with superb decor but on this day the Kitchen let it down badly ?? we waited 1 hour 15 minutes for our meal and when it did arrive it was very disappointing and overpriced for what was served. However they did work with us when the bill arrived and our young waiter Luke was Fantastic no reflection on him just the kitchens getting it horribly wrong. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Eat out. !
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We are just back from our third stay at Queen's Hotel, Southsea and, once again, it didn't disappoint. It was a special wedding anniversary for us and the staff made sure it was memorable for all the right reasons. The warmth of the hospitality is outstanding and the attention to detail. The room was clean and serviced carefully and it had a great sea view. It is so nice to be able to watch the activity on the Solent especially when there is no energy to do more! The location is superb. It is our favourite place to stay and we look forward to visit number four!!
CH

Room Tip: Just tell the Reception Staff what you are looking for and they will do their best to provide it. We...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The staff at the hotel are quite jolly. I was checked in my a friendly lady who made me feel welcome.

The hotel itself is getting a bit shabby but nothing too unpleasant. I has a sea view room and it lived up to its name. The breakfast, reasonably priced, wasn't just about average.

Happy to stay here again. Good value for money.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here in May 2014 for 2 nights. Room was basic, no A/C & got very warm at night. Staff v pleasant & helpful. Had been out to dinner on the first night so got home late, about 11.30. When I went into the room the lights were blown, so a bit of a pain. Too late to get them fixed but I reported it the next morning and it was fixed by the time I got back that evening.

Overall, a nice hotel, maybe more suited to holiday makers than business. Good location and the view from the sea view rooms was lovely.

Room Tip: I would recommend a nice sea view room!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I wanted to commit to writing my sincere and heartfelt thanks to the Queens Hotel & staff for providing a magnificent backdrop and service at my daughters wedding.

While of course the day was in itself very special to me I was very impressed with the service provided by the team which was seamless, friendly and professional.

In particular a very special thank you to the bar team who were incredibly efficient, friendly and understanding.

We stayed at the hotel and the rooms were very spacious and comfotable.

Very impressed all round.

Room Tip: We had 241 overlooking the Solent - fantastic
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

May 17th 2014, my best friend was married at the hotel.
The staff put on a fabulous event.
At the end of the night sadly I lost an expensive and sentimental bracelet, after calling on the Sunday with no avail I was sure it had been found by a stranger and kept.
On May 23rd I had a phone call from the hotel to say the bracelet had been found in the car park and was in the safe ready for me to collect.
It's hard to have faith in people these days, so this has truly restored my belief that there are good, honest people out there who do a fantastic job and care about others.
Thank you so much for a wonderful wedding and customer service that I will never forget.
Fantastic hotel and staff :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
913 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,013 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £81 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing