We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Quiet old style hotel,We had a room with a sea view,small bathroom,soap wash things shower cap,tea/coffee in the room,a fan as the room was hot.Lift to all floors.The breakfast was nice,help yourself,easy check out.would stay again.Good location for the holiday maker.Pay extra for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask about the room if you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perdita-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    260
    161
    109
    70
See reviews for
200
336
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel deal was picked up from a booking site. We had stayed here previously so had no hesitation in taking the booking. The hotel entrance is still very grand but the bedroom was a bit small, but the bathroom was very roomy. Furniture is dated (presumably to fit in with the ambiance of the place). Room was clean. Good views of the sea. Could not fully open the bedroom window as the leverage would not go out any further and there was heavy condensation in between the glass. The corridors were not hovered at all during our stay and looking out on to the inner courtyard you could see how bad a condition the windows were. The public loo downstairs again was very dated. A huge room but old fashion fixtures. Paid extra for buffet breakfast which was very nice. Needs a lot of money spent on it to restore some of its former glory. Staff were pleasant and helpful but as the title suggests it does seem to live on its name - not quite as grand as it would appear

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJN345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My partner and I travel from Devon to stay at The Queens for a few days every month. We have done for a year now...and we will always continue to do so. The Queens is by far the best Hotel in Portsmouth. The view is priceless...The rooms are always clean ...The food is divine and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Speaking of the staff... too many wonderful people to name them all... But my partner and I would like to thank in particular Clare on Reception.. and Jason in Reservations... Both staff members are a credit to The Queens.. Clare is always warm.. welcoming.. intelligent and professional... anything you may need during your stay ... Clare will do her upmost to make sure your stay is the best possible.. A wonderful person who makes your stay that little bit more special...
Jason is warm.. funny .. professional and will always do his upmost to make sure your booking is correct...and without complication. A real asset .
After a long drive... and as we both have stressful careers .. we always look forward to our breaks at The Queens.. A beautiful building.. and a Jewel in Portsmouth's Crown.
Thank You to all the staff and we look forward to visiting you for many years to come.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyPFC1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Queens on the 14th July, our room is rather dated, although generally clean, one of the bedside lamps did not work,however with the en-suite, the hair dryer hose was broken and to use it I had to wrap a towel around my hand to to keep it from burning my hand whilst I kept the hose together, the top of the bath panel was very dirty where it went underneath the lip of the bath, the lever on the bath tap to direct the water flow from shower to bath was broken. I think this hotel is rather overpriced.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Booked up for afternoon tea for 22 guests. Had no idea what to expect but was not disappointed. Due to other bookings we had our own room and although it was the breakfast room it didn't detract from the beautifully presented table and we got the garden view with lots of light.
We had two waiting staff who were attentive throughout and continuously filled teapots and prosecco glasses. The food was superb, presented beautifully and there was even a gluten free plate prepared for a guest who required it (with a few days notice of course).
I'd thoroughly recommend it and would definitely go again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyboots1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

One night stay and a good position with a lovely view, could be a great hotel but needs tlc, breakfast average and expensive in my opinion, the building is fantastic in terms of character, could be great!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caddyshack100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is very grand in a great location. It was ideal for an overnight stay when I stayed with my parents to welcome my son home from his Navy deployment. The Receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. Our rooms were at the rear of the Hotel - one double and one single. The rooms were of a decent size with ensuite, tv, good sized wardrobe, desk, drawers, etc. The bathrooms were tiled, up-to-date, walk in shower, hairdryer. My room could have been a little bit cleaner - dust on the table lamp and along the wardrobe. The bed was comfortable and the towels fluffy. Rooms could perhaps do with some up-dating and house-keeping be a bit more particular with the duster, particularly in my single room.

We ate in the Restaurant for our evening meal. We had purchased vouchers from Reception on arrival which gave us a saving on our evening meals. Starters and desserts averaged at £7 and main meals varied from £13 upwards - £21.50 for steak. We were all happy with our meals, but maybe a tad over-priced.

Breakfast was buffet style with a wide range of cereals, full English breakfast and pastries.

Overall we were pleased with our stay, but maybe we wouldn't return, as we felt it was a little over-priced. But I would recommend the hotel for it's ideal location for our purpose.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing