We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home made food with very friendly bar staff”
Review of The Lady Hamilton

The Lady Hamilton
Ranked #269 of 645 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Old Pub with traditional cooking
Mendon, Vermont
Level Contributor
191 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent home made food with very friendly bar staff”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had dinner here after visiting the historic dockyard. The pub itself is a classic English pub, with lots of Lady Hamilton memorabilia on the walls and lots of dark wood. The young bartender could not have been friendlier. I had the steak and ale pie, which had a magnificent crust and was very good. My wife had the cottage pie, which was also very good. We finished up with bread pudding and custard, which was to die for. Would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great home cooked, pub-grub!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Historic & cosy, this pub offers good real ales & excellent value food.
Our hotel staff recommended the pub & we were not disappointed by the quality or the size & price of the fare offered.
Our food was served in a reasonable time & was hot on arrival.
Whilst waiting for our meals, we took the opportunity to learn from the many photo's., pictures & articles posted on the walls throughout the bar.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gooner1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Last minute decision to eat out, came here due to good reviews. Cannot fault this pub at all. Will definatly be going back for more delicious home cooked food. Landlady Rose & staff so friendly & welcoming. Our 5yr old ate all his roast which is a first when eating out. No more carverys for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice cosy old pub”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

All pubs should be like this good food reasonably priced with a nice pint of bitter with all the attractions just up the road its a great place to keep the days costs down but still feel you have been somewhere historic like the rest of the area

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falaise, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tradition”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

A real basic English pub near the Dockyard. Nothing fancy, a bit scruffy round the edges which just added to its ambiance. Enjoyed a good pint there

Helpful?
Thank rebecalvanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lady Hamilton also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lady Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing