We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good staff”

Chiquito - Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quay
Ranked #176 of 645 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 'South of the border' passion is always served up at Chiquito. A menu of bold Mexican and Tex-Mex cuisine is prepared however the diner likes it. Burritos, sizzling fajitas and tacos can all be customised for vegetarians or those wanting more spice. A kids menu, games and entertainment add to the family-friendly vibe, and there is a great range of exciting cocktails, mocktails, wines and tequilas.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food and good staff”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

As we were shopping at Gunwharf Quays we decided to nip in for a late afternoon lunch. Our visit didn't start off well as having been seated quickly we were then forgotten about. Our promised waiter didn't appear and just as we decided to go somewhere else the manager appeared and took our order. We were very disappointed with this start, but once James our waiter reappeared things improved dramatically.

The menu here is Mexican but with a good variety of choices, from lighter options like salad, to vegetarian dishes and meat wraps. There is a good range of drinks too, from soft drinks and mocktails to spirits and beers.

We opted for loaded nachos to start, which were extremely good. The main courses were also extremely good, with the bean chilli with spicy Mexican rice and nachos, coming with the added bonus of black beans was the best bean chilli I have eaten in some time. The meat dishes were hot, well cooked and tasty. The mocktails we ordered were also very good.

All in all a very good meal, with excellent service from James. Not the cheapest at £47 for two soft drinks, two mocktails, nachos and two mains but still very enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredaAtTheHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    133
    91
    92
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was ok but service not so good”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were seated quickly and the drinks came reasonably quickly however when our Nachos arrived we were given two dirty plates, no one came past to check everything was ok so we didn't bother using the plates. When our next course was brought to us we were asked if we wanted new plates so we explained that the ones they gave us were dirty, the waitress sighed and took them away only to bring back two more plates that looked dirty. The food was of an ok standard but nothing that special. The service from then on in was very poor so much so that we gave up waiting to be asked if we wanted deserts and had to get up and ask for the bill. I was very disappointed by our visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sianista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal out”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Food was great, service quick and ambience ideal. Very impressed that everything was prepared well and served quickly on a Friday in the Christmas period (maybe that's because they had extra staff in). Would definitely go back again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxontherox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a nice meal here. Bit pricy, however food was cooked to perfection and was steaming hot when served. Service was good, pleasant waitress and other staff. Was a large group in at the same time, making it rather noisy....but hey, it's The Christmas season, therefore pretty much expected every where you go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
575 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“great service nice food.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Enjoyed an after cinema mid week evening meal. Prompt friendly service was very good (well done James) The food, steak and chilli poppers ) was tasty and hot accompanied by an interesting salad. Good selection of cocktails. Pleasant clean surroundings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiquito - Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quay also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Chiquito - Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing