We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best curry in Portsmouth!”
Review of Eastern Eye - CLOSED

Eastern Eye
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Best curry in Portsmouth!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We regularly use The Eastern Eye and absolutely love it. The food is second to none and the staff are always friendly and helpful and really pull out all the stops with their recommendations and knowledge. Would definitely recommend the madras as a personal favourite. There is always a nice atmosphere and already cannot wait for the next visit. Keep up the fantastic work (and food!) that you do!!!

Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“really really grate food (must go)”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

i have regular visited the easter eye i am a local chef and regard this to be one of the best restaurants in Portsmouth grate indian cuisine not only with unbelievable prices for what is produced but grate attentive non overbearing service hands down grate place to have grate food

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmpse89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The best curry house in Portsmouth. End of.. The food and the service are out of this world. Never had a bad meal in there - and I've been in there a few times believe me. Highky recommend

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tasteless, classless.”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Chicken Jalfrezi - with only a few bits of chicken - loaded with too many onions and badly cooked peppers.

Keema with peas - the peas were nearly frozen.

Saag Paneer - just saag with common cheese melted over - anyone would know this is not the way.

Poor service. Rubbish food.

Will not be visiting again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chicken Tikka to die for.. So delicious..”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I visit The Eastern Eye Regularly and always have the same meal.
Their Chicken Tikka has to be eaten to be believed as it is so delicious.
The Marinaded Chicken Melts in your mouth.
Occasionally I might follow it with a Banana Fritter and, again, unless you have tasted a Banana Fritter at The Eastern Eye then you have not experienced the best.
Staff are always considerate and willing to please.
Go give it a try. You will be very glad that you did.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miseygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastern Eye also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Cosham, Portsmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing