We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Site, Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The site was small and basic, staff were extremely friendly and helpful although it is true the site needs lots of TLC and money spent on both the Vans and area around the vans, our caravan was clean, it is very handy for Portsmouth, great location

Room Tip: don't go for a bronze van
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philthemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

So sad that the sites potential doesent match the reality, great location , no personality, great potential no promotion. The sites nice, clean and peaceful. It needs care and attention. Updating. And an injection of e enthusiasm from the owner down or from the bottom up.

I would say the vans are 20 years old. Sad, tired,lacking facility, basics like knives and forks that match, cups, saucers,egg cups please!!! Not even there.I'm not complaining about age of vans just care and attention to what's already there.

Room Tip: Old vans, clean, but tired. Need updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is the worst campsite I have ever stayed on in 30 years of caravaning, it is also the dearest at £31 per night. The site is very rundown and untidy part of it looks like a scrapyard for old touring vans and american motorhomes.The toilet blocks are filthy and dropping to bits. The grass is nearly non existant and the hedges are full of rubbish. BE WARNED DO NOT GO THERE

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here for a week, got to say the best thing about the site was the weather, when you are paying £30+ per night you expect to have clean toliet blocks with hot water, there was never any hot water all week and when we complained we were told it was turned down because it was to hot, toilet blocks are only ever given a quick clean once a day and the cleaners really need to be given time to clean them, if you are in a tent then the toilet block near to the tent field is better, but block b is old and run down, peeing in a bush would be cleaner, the attitude of this site is simpley take your money and supply as little as possible, this site is run by people who have no idea of what they are doing, if you are looking for a safe holiday then stay away from this site because they will pack you in do tight your hitch lock could well be inches away from your fellow camper. If there was a unit fire most of the site would be lost, if you intend to visit make sure you are fully insured,

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank iow2867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Went on a sunmini break. Been camping the last four years and can safely say this is the worst campsite we have stopped at.
The entrance is fine including lots of freshly painted white boulders for you to negotiate past, then it went down hill.
The paths/roads around the site are gravel, transport and people crunch along as they move. very irritating at night. There are lots of tourers, winebagos and caravans that look like they are permanent fixtures there and the grass pitches were neglected. If it had have been busy we would have struggled to get the tent in our allotted space.
The shower block looked like a second world war army latrine. All the urinals were blocked, toilets unclean, sinks were cracked, plugs bent and one of the shower doors was hanging off. Not sanitary or looked like it had been cleaned. Needless to say we passed on the showers.
The prevailing wind off the sea was intense at times. We wondered why one camper seemed to have borrowed some of those white blocks and boulders from the entrance to hold down his guy ropes and tent.
The Croatian groundsman/security person, asked me if I was English when I had an England top on and flying an English pennant on my car.
We would only recommend this site to fugatives or people wanting a camping version of Faulty Towers, we were glad to get away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joeeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights last weekend - this is our 4th of 5th visit. Although the caravans are showing signs of wear, they are clean are ample for a short break. The receptionist was as always very friendly and helpful (sue). The park was very quiet with a lot of static vans empty, although there were a lot of tents, towing vans and motorvans. We like staying here as we have family nearby and it is nice to be able to meet up in southsea for dinner etc. Aquacabs are very cheap and reliable so we used them a lot while staying, hardly worth driving as parking is a nightmare and expensive! We did not use Nelsons this time, but it looked much the same as last year. The beach is nice and really close, my husband likes to fish so he is happy to stay here. I am thinking of booking again with the sun as they have another offer out, for the money (we do not have club pass's and bring our own bedding) it is a really cheap weekend away. Book up and give it a try, Portsmouth has something for everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was a Sun holiday break, in November 2012. We wanted some close to Peppa Pig world for our daughter. We read the reviews of trip advisor and panic stations, should we cancel? To keep the missus happy we looked in at the site on our way back from a holiday in Dorset in August. All seemed ok, reception was helpful, they allowed us to view the two caravans from the outside that our family and our friends would be using, right next to each other. I even asked a lady in one of them if we could look round, yes, every thing seemed clean and fairly new.

November and both families turn up as booked. Luckily our freinds got the caravan we booked and viewed for them. For us, no such luck, reception had given our pre booked caravan to someone else so we did not end up next to our friends. The whole point of ajoining caravans was so the kids could swap about and play with each other. We were not happy, great confusion in reception, it was the day shlift that had cocked it up! aledgedly. How about free linen and an extra bedroom? ok we said and off we went. Our caravan was not new, had been smoked in, was worn and tired. Still the heating worked and so did the shower. Four bedrooms, more like one small bedroom and three walk in cupboards. I had great fun walking on the floor outside the toilet, it sagged and I wondered if i would fall through or survive another day it was that spongy. At night we had a downpour, sounded like bullets on the metal walls, woke us up, perhaps it is part of the D Day experience close by Portsmouth.

We did see firewworks that were good, the funfair was one kids carousel. the entertainment was grim, a wornout lounge bar full of locals which made us feel like outsiders.

Overall - it served its purpose, was it worth the money? no, we paid £9.50 per person, probably to much. Advice -research where you go with the Sun Holiday, they can't be any worse the this park

Room Tip: Use a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2005paulbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.8 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#32 of 39 in Portsmouth
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park

Address: Melville Road | Southsea, Portsmouth P049TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Portsmouth
Price Range: £147 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park is ideally located in 12 acres of land by the Solent strait, adjacent to the beach, with stunning views over the Isle of Wight. It offers self-catered accommodation, 2 bars and a restaurant. The caravans at Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park feature a kitchen, a lounge/dining area with a TV and a bathroom with shower or bath. Entertainment is provided most evenings in high season in the bar. The centre of Portsmouth and ferry terminals are reached after a 15-minutes drive. Gunwharf Quays offers many famous-brand discount shops. Southsea Castle is just a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing