We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful.arrived at van v4,no curtains in main bedroom,staff sorted straight away,then we noticed no shower head,went to office and told them,that was then sorted.apparently van had only just been put on site we were first to use.didnt look like gas and electric checks on van had been done,in gas cupboard paperwork was dated 2011,no pat test stickers on anything either.Dont think site has cleaners van wasnt very clean.
Had meal at nelsons bar with the vouchers we were given as no entertainment this week.nelsons bar could do with being closed and having a deep clean the conservatory floor was filthy,dead flies on windowsills and lots of cobwebs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    41
    31
    29
    141
See reviews for
120
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stay away if you value your health and holiday happiness. I paid over £500, the week before was £250. The caravan was dirty, unkempt and uncomfortable,( i.e damaged seating and poor state of "provided bedding"). Site was run down, one toilet block was closed, The club house was like a "working mans" club, with families allowed, and, if you didn't mind the woman at the bar constantly swearing close to young children, then you may enjoy it, however the two televisions on differing channels were on so loud that maybe, hopefully they didn't hear the profanities.
I had a problem with my swipe card to the entrance, and I went to get it sorted. It was just out of hours, but as the lights were on and 3 people were visible in the portacabin office, I knocked several times, but was ignored. So I followed the "white van man" who was off to his permanent holiday home, and so I learned to dodge the bollards!.
The morning chorus was not just of seagulls and the Isle of White Hovercraft, but that of white vans and others leaving for work from 6.00am.

Room Tip: I wish I had reviewed this site before I went. But sadly I didn't. (Lesson learnt i won't ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have just come back from a 3 night stay in a static van vp10 at Southsea leasure park. When i read the reviews i was in two minds to go or not but when we got there the van was fine and in a nice position next to the beach. The heating is an electric heater in the lounge that isn't up to the job, the hot water is also electric but gives plenty of hot water. The tv was very old with a freeview box but it buzzed while on so wasn't useable, if we had reported it iam sure it would have been sorted. We didn't use the clubhouse so i can't comment, give the site a go its not as bad as its made out to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We returned for our first sun holiday this year on 7th Apr and received the usual friendly greeting from Sue, Erica was on the other shift i think .Sue chatted with us and directed us to our caravan,which turned out to be one we had stayed in last year , on entering to our surprise the carpets and floor covering add all been replaced and toilet etc repainted ,and the van was spotless in every way .Another nice surprise we had was ,after we had settled in , a knock came on the door,and Paul introduced himself, he had come to make sure everything was to our liking ,and was there anything we needed or that he could get for us . There seems to be a lot of changes takeing place on the site , caravans being upgraded and older one's replaced with more modern one,s ,we were so satisfied and had such a good holiday ,we have book to go back again next month .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackoSwadlincote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at this site for 4 nights. Staff were friendly apart from the lady behind the bar who looked like she didn't want to be there. She did not make you feel welcome at all. The site is very run down and dirty. The bar area was filthy especially the pool table area. The bar did not open till 4pm so they had all day to clean it but when we went in it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for weeks.
The caravan was spacious but filthy had to clean it before we could use it and still felt dirty as so old and run down. We even paid for an upgrade so god knows what we would have got if we hadn't. I don't think it could get any worse.
When making final payment about 3 weeks before we enquired about entertainment. We were advised they could not confirm what was on but there would be entertainment each night. When we arrived we were told there is no entertainment so as a refund for our evening passes they gave us vouchers for the bar to get drinks or food. No refund of our money was given. One of the evenings we went to the bar area ordered our drinks which didn't come to the value of our voucher to be told you do not get any change and our voucher would not be deducted for the value of our round. Think this is classed as theft as it was our money and we didn't choose to have to drink there let alone eat. I wouldn't let me dog or worst enemy eat there.
There was no atmosphere at all, the site was full of work men or kids riding around the bike, swearing and lighting cigarettes they could have been no older than 14. Not great for my kids to see or hear.
I would not return to this site or recommend it. STAY WELL AWAY if you have a family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 82KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Used Southsea as a stopover after returning to UK from France, we were greeted by a very pleasant lady who gave me directions to our hard standing pitch, when we turned the corner to our spot or what looked like a car park, it was like we had entered a movie scene from some kind of Alabama trailer trash park movie, there were residential American RV's all over the hard standing, it's not as if they were nice looking ones either, run down is an understatement. We pitched up, locked our doors, windows and closed the blinds. Didn't leave anything but the hook up cable outside as did not feel secure.Toilet blocks had the public toilet of the 70's look about them, and probably hadn't been cleaned since the 70's. I returned to my tourer on the morning of departure after emptying the cassette only to find I had stood in excrement from what source I don't know. Departure time states a rather early 10am, however we were ready to go at 9am. This is the closest site for the ferry terminal so any of our continental friends visiting here as there first stop would have a bad first impression of our sites. At our first service station heading home we stopped for a break and all agreed it would have been a more pleasant stay at the services.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank n13rnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

6 of us went on a sun holiday. 3 adults & 3 children. Nothing really for the children to do on the site if raining as the play area is outside and there is no swimming pool. The club house is tired looking and needs updating but the staff and locals are really nice.
There is quite a lot of people that live on the site so doesn't really feel like a holiday site. The location to the beach is great.
Our caravan wasn't the best as it was old and the toilet smelt like a public urinal but my sister had a look at another caravan and she said it was much nicer for us to move to but it only had 2 bedrooms so we stayed put.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
850 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park

Property: Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park
Address: Melville Road | Southsea, Portsmouth P049TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park is ideally located in 12 acres of land by the Solent strait, adjacent to the beach, with stunning views over the Isle of Wight. It offers self-catered accommodation, 2 bars and a restaurant. The caravans at Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park feature a kitchen, a lounge/dining area with a TV and a bathroom with shower or bath. Entertainment is provided most evenings in high season in the bar. The centre of Portsmouth and ferry terminals are reached after a 15-minutes drive. Gunwharf Quays offers many famous-brand discount shops. Southsea Castle is just a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southsea Holiday Home and Lodge Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing