We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish (and chips were ok)”
Review of Deep Blue

Deep Blue
Ranked #359 of 651 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Fast food
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great fish (and chips were ok)”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is fish how it should be (and the chips were ok). The batter is not too thick and it's crispy; the fish itself is tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    8
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently the best fish and chips I've had”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Before finding this place, I was very disillusioned with fish and chip shops - they sometimes get it right only then to get it so wrong you won't go back. Deep Blue is the only fish and chip shop where the food is consistently fresh and of good quality (although this is reflected in the price and waiting time but this doesn't bother me as I've never had a bad meal there). They do offer Nectar Points, 10% NHS discount, cheaper portions (OAP and kids, although I always tend to go for one of those options) and loyalty cards. Staff are very friendly and polite. Parking can be an issue sometime as it's located on a very busy road but there are side roads.

It's the only place in Portsmouth I'll go for fish and chips as it is always good. 5 stars.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AloysiusWreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The moment I saw the place I thought I could give it a try and once I entered I was greeted with a nice friendly smile from the staff. The food was very good and the chips were fresh. Highly recommended and I'm definitely going there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rnusair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seriously great fish and chips”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped here to pick up lunch after fancying fish and chips and the TripAdvisor reviews caught our eyes. Definitely worth a visit - served in a box which is great when eating on the go, really crisp batter and excellent proper chips. Served by a very polite and friendly chap and nice shop - all round 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank Shcwiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Quite simply the best fish and chips you could hope for. Crisp high quality batter, perfectly cooked chips, fresh tender fish

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LifesJustARide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deep Blue also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Deep Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing