We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really do not like their pizzas”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizza Hut - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Hut
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: One of three Pizza Hut locations in Portsmouth.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really do not like their pizzas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Children love these pizzas, but my hubby and I did not like them at all. The salad is ok, but they have a very small selection. Kids love it, we didn't

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Happis_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

really nice place to eat really friendly staff
they also have a all you can eat buffet of salad and pizza for £5 when we went there

Helpful?
Thank Kirstie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and great selection of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Went here with some friends after visiting the university as the buffet was on - £7 all you can eat. We were seated within two minutes and our drink orders were taken straight away. We asked if we could have the buffet and they bought out 3 salad bowls with our drinks. The atmosphere was very nice and we felt safe enough to leave our bags and all go up together. There was a wide range of salad and pasta which were delicious and then we were allowed to help ourselves to pizza. As we went up, there were no more plates left and the only downside was that I had to wait 5 minutes just for a plate - but the staff were very apologetic. There were a wide variety of pizza and they were constantly bringing new ones out so even if the one you wanted wasn't there, there would always be one that you liked. The service was very nice and so was the food!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sammybreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern United kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Poor, shoddy indifferent service, filthy tables and a long, long wait!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We visited Pizza Hut at about 6pm in August the bank holiday weekend. There did not look like many staff about but as we were hungry we decided to proceed with getting a meal.
We waited were shown to our table by a very cheerful and welcoming young lady. Thats where the service with a smile ended! We then read the menu and waited at least twenty minutes before a waitress came to take our order for drinks and that was only becuase my husband grabbed her attention. They seemed understaffed and rushed off their feet.
We waited another 45 minutes before our food order was taken and then told there were no cheese stuffed crusted pizzas or cheesy bites pizzas. AT 6PM they run out?????
So we then wait for our order but are told go to the sald bar and help ourselves. Well there was hardly any stuff to help ourselves to as all platters badly needed replemishing and this was not done for the duration of our meal in Pizza Hut Havant depsite us reporting this twice to the waitress.
The pizza was average and certainly not worth the price.
My husband went to pay and even then the waitress proceeded in talking to another waitress about her pending night out with boyfriend rather than passing time of day with my hsband who was trying to initiate polite conversation.
This experience has put us off ever visiting pizza hut again. The service was appalling and those that work there should all be sacked. There are planty of people needing jobs that would probably have provided an excellent service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY AWFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

22.07.11, after 200 mile+ journey our three teenage girls fancied Pizza Hut at the start of our holiday (ferry next morning). BIG MISTAKE.

We went to Pizza Hut, 97 Commercial Road Portsmouth. The place wasn't busy but tables were dirty and we had to wait. There was a good natured Birthday party of teenage girls with tables across the window area.

Behind us in the queue was an odd woman and young man, they appeared agitated and/or drunk. To our surprise they were seated next to the Girls Party and served with... a bottle of red wine! Only.

Some of the girl party went to the loos and on return were upset and reported to staff/manager that the odd woman had offered them drugs in the loos.
The staff did nothing.

We knew there'd be trouble. We had placed our order, but service was slow.

The odd woman was now talking to and imposing herself on the girl party. The girls were upset and some crying. They again spoke to staff.
The staff did nothing. They just watched with dull indifference.

The woman was now being loud and unpredictable. A little girl on the table next to us was in tears.
The staff did nothing. I told them they should phone the police.

The staff did nothing.

The odd woman was now irate and shouting.
Then chairs were thrown and glasses smashed.

We left by the back door. The staff were phoning the police who, by the time we got to our (nearby) car, had arrived.

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. Never using Pizza Hut again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jogon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Hut also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing