We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“D Day Meal” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dolphin

The Dolphin
Ranked #202 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$3 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to The Dolphin, Portsmouth. We’re Portsmouth's oldest pub; traditional with some modern essentials, located right in the heart of the City. We offer free Wi-Fi, great food and a varied range of real ales and refreshing beers. The Dolphin is equipped with a fantastic beer garden to the back of our pub, perfect for those spring and summer evenings. Families with young children are welcome to dine with us until 8pm.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“D Day Meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was absolutely appalling. Family went to the evening meal which was advertised and had entertainment. We were cramped in the seats. We could not see the entertainment. The meal lacked vegetables. The pudding was very very limited. All in all, it was a very overcrowded evening and we wished we had not gone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    106
    62
    35
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Father's Day Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We consistently enjoy wonderful Sunday lunches in the Dolphin. We came back from our Vegas holiday a couple of weeks ago, and went straight from Gatwick to the Dolphin to have a great Sunday lunch, we had missed it! The food has a homemade taste, and the pub feels like you are out in the countryside. Again we went as a family on Father's Day and were not disappointed. I also recommend the ham egg and chips, better than I can do, a straight forward meal, but really tasty!

Helpful?
Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a great evening at the Dolphin. It was our first visit as we normally head for the pubs at the waterside. The food was great & well priced , we will certainly go there again when we are down that way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MillieMiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangbourne, Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lunched here on two occasions on a playdate weekend away with friends. Delightful. Its claims to be the oldest pub in Portsmouth were backed up by the low ceilings and dark interior which was brightened by candles on all tables. Lovely welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff. Food is delish pub grub well presented and very tasty too. Will be going back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CopenhagenChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Reheated chewy meat and even worse reheated cabbage well over cooked
The service was pretty poor too
Total waste of money
Would never go again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing