We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch in Portsmuth”
Review of Sallyport Tearooms - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sallyport Tearooms
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch in Portsmuth”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

After a Shoppong trip to Gunwharf we recalled a visit to Sallyport Tea rooms a few years ago when our daughter was at University in Portsmouth
We were delighted to find the Sallyport Tearooms alive and well in Portsmouth
We both enjoyed the atmosphere and service provided by this small but efficient establishment.
Serving probably no more than 20 people at a time it was quite busy and the food was very good and served piping hot.
Home cooked and simple, a tasty menu was on offer, as well as "Specials" at very reasonable prices
The staff were attentive polite and informative and we thoroughly enjoyed the welcome break from "retail therapy"
We would not hesitate to recommend this pleasant establishment to others .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidden50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

A quick lunch in here was a welcome respite from our day out to the cultural & historic attractions in Portsmouth. A welcoming place with an interesting menu and well worth the walk!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Looked a lovely tearoom, but service very slow, and food was very average. Went in next day with friends and it was like going into a different place. Service good as was the food. The staff had changed!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

On entering we thought the tearoom was pleasent and the menu was acceptable. The service, however, was awful, it seemed that the staff did not want to be there! Our order for drinks was taken and then we were left wondering if we had been forgotten, had to ask for our food order to be taken, and was a bit taken back by the rather abrupt resonse of "Do you know what you want?". When the drinks came out, the waitress spilt milkshake over my daughters rucksack, and clattered the spoons and cups on the table. When the food fanally came out, it was not altogether, my daughter nearly finished hers before the rest came out and one meal was totally forgotten so we had to wait for that! We felt as though we were an inconvienience to the staff! Needless to say I did not leave a tip! Would not be returning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Having read the other review we were a bit disappointed, the 'butter' most certainly wasn't, I asked if there was any real butter, there wasn't, glad I didn't have a cream tea! The food was average, the side salad consisting of iceberg lettuce and shop bought coleslaw,
The service was good but I was kept waiting when I went to pay which I always find irritating. However, that said there was only one person working to begin with (I think the other person was late) so there was a bit of catching up to be done. On the plus side there were a few people in on a dull day in February who seemed to be local so maybe we were just unlucky, so I'll give it another go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodqueen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sallyport Tearooms also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing