We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booked this well in advance and got a great bargain for 3 nights - £87. Attended graduation ceremony and added on a couple of nights for a break having never been to Portsmouth before. Fitted the bill well. Free car parking meant we could take the bus around the area - quite easy with a bit of research. Large rooms, very clean and fresh. Pleasant and helpful staff. Pub type restaurant in complex but not very good food. Only problem is no air con but we took our own fan, as did many others, and it was a godsend in this hot week.

Room Tip: Get one facing the car park as they are quieter. Other side faces busy road and can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

I booked this travelodge as a base for my son's graduation in Portsmouth. Just off the motorway, on the edge of the city, it's a perfect location in my view.

Reception staff very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough to help.

The refurbished rooms it appears have been a lick of paint, new curtains and matching runner on beds but many rooms (including ours) have king sized beds which were very comfortable.

The bathroom was immaculate and the shower was one of the best I've ever known in a travelodge.

It was a very hot night but the man on reception was more than happy to hunt out a fan for us which really helped.

Overall, a very comfortable stay and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room to the rear of the hotel. We had a front room facing the motorway...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah6rmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Hotel staff were rude and the managers attitude stank when it came to my wife complaining about the noise of the nights events with the loud staff. The manager swore at my wife and called her a name when she was making the complaint. The 1st floor stank of cannabis and as for a refurb?? all I can say is it must of been decorated by the Chuckle brothers and Frank Spencer. Horrible grubby hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Carl B, we’re surprised and concerned to learn of the issues you have raised and really wish to investigate this. We would like to obtain more details, please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I only stay at TLs when I need a functional room rather than for an enjoyable stay.

The refurb makes it very good for a TL, However the hot weather, combined with no ventilation and windows you can't open made it hellish. My room was 31 centigrade at night. Anywhere you contacted the bed you were wringing wet with perspiration.

The shower extractor fan didn't work ( a common TL fault) combining to make it like a sauna after a shower.

The weather isn't TLs fault, but windows you cant open fully (they are tethered), faulty extractors, and no ventilation are.

Sorry TL, you need to be better especially for what you charge at this location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winer_Diner_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

We are sorry to learn you did not have a comfortable stay with us Winer_Diner_2011. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. Whilst the windows are tethered for our customer’s safety, we do expect the extractor fans to be working. We’ll ensure our hotel staff are made aware of your comments so they can look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was not booked by me, but for a business trip. I am only glad it was for one night. While I accept that on the hottest day of the year and with high humidity you expect things to be uncomfortable, but this place was the worst ventilated hotel ever. The corridors were like saunas, the first room I had was graced with water dripping through the ceiling and black mould where the leak was. Fair enough, I was given another room after complaining but this one had a bathroom ceiling that was madly stained and again had black mould on it. Being located on a junction the traffic noise was bad in both rooms, you couldn't open the window more than a few inches ( I know the claim will be health and safety). The only positive thing I can say about this place is the pub underneath it did a reasonable steak for the price and the bed was big and comfortable. Shame I couldn't sleep In short, overpriced, zero facilities and a bad adverisment for the brand. If I have to visit Portsmouth again I would rather sleep in the car. It would be more comfortable and less mouldy.

Room Tip: In another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Videoman4K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Videoman4K please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. We are sorry that you experienced a room that was below the standards we expect and disruption during your stay. To help us investigate the issues and contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel in very convenient for the ferry port. I have stayed here twice and both times found the room unbearably hot. The first time the windows were locked shut as it was a family room and children may climb out! and recently it was airless despite leaving the window open. In hot weather it needs aircon or fans and lighter bedding to make it comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank orthoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear orthoc, we do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible but unfortunately this hotel does not have air conditioning. We have a number of fans available from reception for customers to borrow on request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with Wife and 2 young children.
The weather was very hot, and as other people have said, the windows only open an inch and no air-con. My Wife asked at reception for a fan, but they had none left. Consequently our room was like a sauna, and we spent as little time as possible in there, as it was almost unbearable.
As strange as it sounds given the heat, at about 4am, some kind of alarm was going off quite loudly (not Travelodge's fault) so we wanted to temporarily close the window, to avoid waking our children up, and it couldn't be closed either.

My worst complaint though, was the first night.
I was just about to get into bed, peeled back the duvet, and spotted 2 penny-sized blood stains on the sheet where you would lay on the bed.
I noticed this with only the bathroom light on, so I have no idea how the person who made the bed managed to miss it.
I was not happy, so went to reception, and got a robotic 'apology' and another sheet.
I also mentioned it to the Manager on our departure, who said sorry. But that was all, no mention of maybe a free breakfast, or refund of a night's stay or something.
The staff genuinely didnt seem that shocked by it, which makes me think that things like this may be a regular occurrence.

I've had just about enough of Travelodges now, they have got worse and worse over the last few years, the staff are never that bothered about complaints or bad reviews on here.
This is echoed by the head office as well. I've put in complaints to them in the past, and they only send back a standard apology email or letter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Ian J, we are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to the standards we would expect and that the problems were not resolved satisfactorily at the hotel. We’d like to be able to discuss with you a resolution to these issues. To help us contact you, please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#27 of 39 in Portsmouth
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,243 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £49 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing