We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room very hot and stuffy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“room very hot and stuffy”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The rooms at this hotel were very hot and stuffy,asked for a fan but they said there werent any but seen some one else taking ,the pillows were rock hard and couldnt open the window anymore to let some air in,wont be stopping here again,travelodge portsmouth

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank kenny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    258
    143
    66
    60
See reviews for
264
258
27
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Lovely room,comfortable bed, but breakfast let it down .they no longer do cooked breakfast,you get a lunch box style breakfast. But pub next door do a mean one.so we would advise not booking breakfast with travel lodge. We understood on questioning the staff, that this is a trial, and that most guests have said they don't like them either.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just staying over before the ferry to France early next morning. Really clean and good size room, everything you need for a stop over.

Dead easy to get to port the following morning as its on the same roundabout.

Really close to Gunwharf Quay where we had a really nice chinese meal

Definitely stay again

Room Tip: High floors are very warm in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A conveniently located hotel for the ferry port (literally across the road), and what you would expect from a travelodge, but on the night of our stay it was warm outside but the room was so hot it was impossible to sleep. Even with the window open we couldn't cool down (if this had been premier inn we would have got our money back so lesson learned).
It was clean though so ok for one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Cath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Worst night in a hotel ever! Room was basic, I could cope with that for the price but it was boiling hot with no option to open the window and had no fan or air con -ridiculous,never again! it was also very noisy from inside and outside the hotel.

All in all a hellish night and has put me off Travel Lodge, should have stayed at a Premier Inn.


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank chooky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Carmarthen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stay here annually for a local event and have always had great/pleasant service and the rooms have always been clean and tidy and at a reasonable rate. Dare I say that this is just a roof over our heads for the night, but we enjoy this roof :). We have in the past found the rooms very warm, especially during the recent heat wave, but an electric fan was provided, thanks :) As has been mentioned in other reviews, the staff have always been pleasant and helpful. There is the Sovereigns Restaurant next door, which in my opinion is very good (see my review) and very handy.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the rear we have found are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel was nice and clean family room was plenty big enough for us the pub next door had food that was ok plus an indoor play area for kids (chargable) i wouldnt stay here again only due to it not been close enough to portsmouth for us no other reason. Free carpark which is always a bonus with a travelodge

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barker813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Property: Travelodge Portsmouth
Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing