We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service with no intention to help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hotel was clean enough,but make sure you take toiletries as there was one bar of soap and nothing else.
Toilet was in need of a new syphon and took ages to refill,hence logs left floating in a room shared by two men
Booked a twin room months ago but got a double,Staff promised to rectify but did nothing.They smile a lot though...and go off shift before your return,I'm not going to expect the next shift to change my room/bed at 2am.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank radioactivekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We do expect our facilities to be in good working order, and our customers should also be provided with the room they originally booked so we are really sorry to learn of the problems you experienced on this occasion radioactivekid. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

There seem to be mixed reviews about this place, but our experience was excellent. Stayed for two days and found everything satisfactory. The room was clean and warm, the bed was really comfy with a nice duvet and good pillows, big white towels. There was a kettle and coffee satchets in the room but no hairdryer, iron or toiletries, but you can get them from reception and that is why it is cheap. No breakfast either but they offer a box of brekkie goodies for £5 which we didn't have, we went to starbucks! Plenty of free parking. We found the reception staff to be really friendly and helpful. When the light in my parents bathroom stopped working they tried to fix it straight away, then offered them another room, very efficient.

Overall it was really excellent. It is a budget hotel (we paid the same for three nights here as we would have for one night on the seafront) so you shouldn't expect a lot, but it was clean and modern and comfy. There was some noise late on the saturday night from revellers returning but that is not the fault of the hotel. By the way in Portsmouth they have the most excellent taxis - ring one and they will turn up within five mins - so you can get around the city by taxi really easily.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodgeness999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Through our High Street Travel Agent, and in turn, Superbreak, my brother and son had a booking for this hotel starting 5th August for 5 nights. They'd lots of plans including plenty of fishing and had made arrangements for such. They set off from Leeds, Yorkshire, for the long journey down. Upon arrival, they were informed that the booking was not for 5th August but for 5th October. As if…………he had holiday from work for this August date and hence, my son was on school holiday. He looked again at paperwork before handing it to the desk staff. It clearly said 5th August on two sets of confirmation paperwork. They said they could not stay because there was no room due to some festival around the area that was taking place. He explained they'd come from Leeds and had nowhere to go. They said they could have a room there for the night at a cost of £60. He refused, having already paid for the 5 night stay via our travel agent.

I’m told that the desk staff were totally off hand and did not care at all. My brother described them as a set of ignorant clueless individuals! On showing the paperwork they asked them to go and come back (because apparently they were too early to check in anyway). Off they went to the local pub and then back again. The same was repeated………that there was no booking and they'd got it wrong! One staff member sat in the background tapping on her phone and the person dealing with the dilemma said ‘anyway, sorry it’s the end of my shift now’. He was livid and told he'd be lucky to get anywhere else due to this festival that was on. They got in a taxi and went back to the rail station and went home to Leeds. That was a hell of a round trip and worse, I had to deal with my son’s disappointment that the holiday had quite literally been and gone within a gruelling 14 hour period.

The following day, they were sat in the local travel agents to make a complaint. The agent rang Travelodge Portsmouth. They had the brass neck to tell thel agent that they'd stayed one night. ‘I don’t think so’ said the travel agent ‘because they’re sat in front of me right now’’!

Could there be something dodgy going on there? A friend suggested that it is not uncommon, when there’s an event going on, for the desk staff to re-sell rooms at a higher price, and then put the consequences down to ‘an admin error’ or as may have happened in this case, to tell the customer they’re nuts and have arrived on the wrong date. I’m told their computer records will most probably say that the booking is for October because desk staff will indeed have covered tracks and made a change to it. Wonder if there’s an audit trail!

We made a complaint to Travelodge HQ. This turned out to be a waste of time. We received a letter that they would 'look into it'. Then..........nothing!

Room Tip: To get a room at all........go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank DriverLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Only thing good to say about this hotel is its location, close to the ferry terminal.
Everything else about it makes it the worst Travelodge I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in a lot!
TV was not working, and I understand it hadn't worked for days! Wi- Fi didn't work either. Room had no pillows! Toilet didn't flush properly and continued to run through the night. Noise from other residents woke us up at 2.00 in the morning and at various other times. If the walls in this hotel are insulated they need a whole lot more! It's the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Staff seemed some disinterested in the problems.
Such a shame because usually Travelodge offer good value, not this time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-Suffolk_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We are sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction during your recent stay with us John-Suffolk-England. We expect all of our rooms to have facilities in good working order so it is regrettable to learn that the TV was not working on your arrival and that the toilet did not flush correctly. The hotel has confirmed that on this particular occasion they had a power surge on site which meant this affected the TV service which has since been repaired. Our Wi-Fi service is offered through one of our partners called Arqiva who do have a dedicated Customer care team who we will contact to advise of the problems you had with the connectivity. We are also sorry to learn you were disturbed by other guests at the hotel, we do ask our customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay. We would like to investigate the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here the night before our ferry crossing to the Isle of Wight. The location is excellent for this and is close to Gunwharf Quays too. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was spacious and clean. Very comfy bed. Had tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
There is also free parking which makes this Travelodge excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a totally refurbished Travelodge, just 1/2 mile from the ferry terminals, it has always been excellent value for money and has recently undergone a refurbishment. With new carpets, curtains, bathrooms and fantastic king size super beds. There is a pub with a restaurant underneath, which serves delicious meals at a very reasonable price. The breakfast menu is vast and has something for everyone, from toast to a full English breakfast at just £6.25. There is a good size car park and we have used it many times on our twice yearly visits to family in France. Portsmouth and Southsea is a lovely area to visit, loads to do and see, including trips to the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Amm rooms are quiet and double glazed, stayed there many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Staff were lovely and friendly, helpful too. Nothing too much trouble. Room very basic but clean and serviceable. I was lucky enough to get the double bed which was a dream sleep. Breakfast was in a box which was better than I imagined too, so all in all it was a great stay and would definatley stay again. Oh, bargain price too!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank sammatt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#27 of 39 in Portsmouth
199 reviews
7.0 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
2.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £44 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing