We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ghost Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ghost Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Visiting family in the area resulted in our 2 night stay at a convenient location that met our budget. The hotel lobby was more like a block of flats entrance with drinks and chocolate vending machines. We were greeted by a friendly young lad who had us checked in in under a minute and that was the last time we saw the reception manned until we left 2 days later, but I'm sure had we wanted assistance someone could have been summoned from the back room.
The hotel was fairly clean and the rooms were large, appearing to have some furniture missing although there was 2 easy chairs. The bed was really comfortable and clean. It was obvious that the premises had recently undergone some sort of refurbishment as the paintwork looked new although grubby in areas. Our room was well heated by an electric heater that actually did what it was supposed to do and the double glazing worked well as we could not hear the nearby motorway traffic.
We shared a bathtowel on the first night as initially the 2nd towel was dirty.
The pub next door served meals - breakfast and the usual pub grub, but we didn't eat there so cannot comment on the quality
Definately a no frills hotel and ideal if you just want somewhere to sleep

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SailorJohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    250
    141
    66
    60
See reviews for
258
251
26
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Portsmouth is a total mess of a town and the ongoing roadworks do nothing to help it. Neither do the citizens who seem intent on stepping in front of your car at ever given opportunity. Maybe that's the better alternative to living there. That said we managed to find the main station and collect our friend and somehow find the hotel, albeit arriving from an unexpected direction. This all with satnav which seems to get confused with all the different levels and buildings in the town.

Ample onsite car parking, easy check-in and as we were coming and going at different times always someone on or behind the reception, even buzzing me back in at 1.45am after another confusing trip round the town to find the Hard Interchange for our friend to get the coach out of town.

No cafe/bar here, but the is a rather nice looking pub restaurant attached to the hotel, we didn't eat there because of our schedule, but the smells coming from the were wonderful.

TV was restricted to about 3 channels, one of which was endless repeats of Poirot, found out that there had been a power cut and surge the evening before (due to the roadworks having chopped a cable or something) and the engineers were coming later to fix it.

My room was huge and very clean and the bathroom had a bathtub I'm six foot so it was a little short, but a nice soak after a week on the road with just showers was very welcome.The staff we saw were very pleasant and keen to help.

No problems at all in recommending this hotel, and I would stay here without hesitation, if ever I'm dragged kicking and screaming to Portsmouth again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights with my boyfriend. I had booked early check in but when it came to the day I knew I would be delayed and wouldn't get there until after midnight, they very kindly refunded by early check in and booked late checkout for me instead which I was thought was great customer service. The hotel is very easy to find, just off the m275 (I am a new driver and found it easily). The hotel is about 30 mins walk away from the harbour (for gunwharf quays, historic dockyard and ferry crossing to isle of wight), alternatively a taxi is £5 or there are local buses. If you walk down Kingston crescent, after about two mins you get to what I would call your average high street with shops, cashpoints and some places to eat such as subway, weatherspoons, mcdonalds, for restaurants you will need to go to the harbour. The hotel itself has been refurbished to new Travelodge standard, nice comfy bed with thick duvet, the room has a very strong electric heater which kept us very warm even in late November, bathroom was cold though. Plenty of free parking, pub downstairs was ok I guess...food was edible. TIP: if you are going to historic dockyard look on ebay for vouchers, we got access for £10 each, saving us £32! My only complaint is that the window was double glazed but didn't block out any of the noise from the carpark, as the hotel is above a pub there are rubbish and glass collections every couple of days and its very noisy, and regular deliveries, these woke me up daily due to poor windows. I fell back to sleep pretty easily though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarbWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Booked this last minute hotel for me and my partner and 2 yr old. Upon arrival we were greeted at around 2am in the night by the hotel receptionist and was given door card for our room, was very tired so went up to room and was nice and warm and clean. There was a double bed and two single beds on either side of the double bed, there was also sofa/sofa bed and a desk with mirror and two chairs. The bathroom consisted of a bathtub with a shower above it. Had a peaceful nights sleep with no disturbances and awoke in the morning had a coffee. I went down to ask for an iron from reception and was kindly given one without hassle.

The overall stay was relaxing and comfortable - I would stay again however I think for £50 stay it was slightly over priced as I have stayed in Travelodge before and its roughly 25 - 35 a stay.

Room Tip: Family room 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceiicei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I needed to stay in Portsmouth one night for a meeting next day. This Travelodge was extremely easy to find and had plenty of free parking. The room could have been warmer but the new bed and thick duvet made it acceptable when in bed (though the bathroom remained cool).
The Sovereign pub in the same building was a bonus - typical pub carvery - plenty to eat and reasonable price. Just make sure that you sit at the tables to one end or you will be surrounded by families with children that charge about.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arncliffe_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We wanted a short break in Portsmouth before moving on to the Isle of White. The hotel was just up the road from the Gunwarfe Keys and the Naval Dockyard and the Whitelink Ferry. Easy parking at Gunwarfe shopping mall Great shops and eateries. Recommend buy day ticket for naval dockyard it will save you pounds compared to buying individual tickets. Mary Rose museum is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel offers good value accommodation in walking distance of the international ferry terminal. Staff were efficient and friendly. Rooms are pleasant and comfortable with a bath and shower. Tea / coffee is provided. Breakfast box not good value but there is a pub next door which does an OK cooked breakfast for under £7. The hotel was very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Property: Travelodge Portsmouth
Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing