We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveller rating
297
331
206
112
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
331
206
112
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry port travel lodge pub next door car park hungry horse early ferry overnight stop excellent location comfortable room night's sleep good nights sleep free parking stayed here for one night tea and coffee historic dockyard cooked breakfast isle of wight
Filter
Updating list...
908 - 913 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very welcoming staff, free car park. Lovely clean room, new bathroom fittings, comfortable bed (new) and pillows. Aired and fresh smelling. Some external noise as near to a major intersection, but acceptable level considering location. Good road and bus links, close to city centre (less than 1 mile) and train station

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had not been overly satisfied with Travelodge's in the past, only stayed at Premier Inn's. Our stay, family -- 1 child and the dog, was excellent. Very welcoming staff, clean room, very comfortable beds, value for money!!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We use Travelodges extensively for two main reasons: 1) Disabled parking arrangements are mostly good and 2) We can take our dogs with us. We stayed at Portsmouth TL as we had an early morning cross-channel ferry next morning from the adjacent ferryport. We won't be staying here again.
Upon arrival, (1900hrs) we were unable to park in any of the disabled parking spaces as road maintenance vans were parked in them all. We were then left for over 10 minutes standing outside the front door for over 10 minutes in freezing conditions with a nice view of the deserted main desk. Goodness knows what all the staff were doing. When we were graced by the presence of a staff member and admitted, the staff were unhelpful and unfriendly, totally disinterested in the parking problems. I mentioned that my father-in-law was deaf and may need help in an overnight emergency; the reception staff said that I needed to take a vibrating pillow alerter for him but they didn't know how it worked. The room was supposedly a disabled room but it had an over-bath shower with no anti-slip mat. The room was stuffy but if you opened the window the traffic noise was bad.
We had booked for a second night a week later on our return. Same vans parked in the disabled spaces, same attitude from desk staff. We asked them for the name of the Area Manager to which they replied they didn't know. They then said that they didn't own the car park, so I asked for the name of the owners so I could contact them. Again, 'we don't know who owns it'.
Pathetic. Total disregard for the needs of disabled travellers. They've got your money, that's all they seemed interested in. It is impossible to ring TL to complain: it's entirely on-line and they never reply in person.
We regularly stay at the Four Marks TL about half-an-hour outside the city; great staff, quiet location. We have moved other booked stays to other lodges to avoid this place and the staff.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Services at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

We are sorry to learn that there were not any available disabled car parking spaces when you arrived at the hotel ckeeble. Unfortunately the hotel share the car park with the neighbouring pub and currently we do not require registration numbers on check in. Please be assured that your review has been sent to the Hotel Management team and they are working towards ensuring that this does not happen again. During your stay we would expect staff to be welcoming and friendly, we are very sorry to learn that you did not find this to be the case. Our accessible rooms can vary throughout our hotels due to the age and building regulations of each hotel. The facilities on offer would have met the DDA regulations. Where possible we do try and update the facilities we provide in these rooms. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review when submitting your details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A good place to stay when we got off the Ferry at 9.30 p.m. and didn't want to face a long drive home. It is close to the Ferry terminal and didn't take long to get there. Good value and a good night's sleep.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

stayed here on new years eve, had a restaurant booking at gunwharf quays in the evening so booked this for £52 a room which was a bargain. It took about 10 minutes to get there in a taxi - but only cost £4 in the day and at 2am only cost £10 - which were i'm from that is a bargain! took a while to find someone to check in as she was on the other side of the hotel, but rooms clean and tidy, other customers were pretty noisy and sounded like there were a heard of elephants upstairs all night that kept me away, but as it was new years i expected this. it seems like the floor is quite hollow, which maybe it should have been soundproofed or thicker especially in the corridoors as we could hear people walking up and down the corridoor above us. but for the money was great, large pub next door which was cheap and cheerful and free large car park

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews