We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant again and again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here 4 times now, each stay has been great, staff are very friendly , location is perfect , room is spotless, free parking and the bed nice and comfy.price was good too, I like to have more tea and coffee than is put in the room as normal so I always ask when we check in for more and it is always given with out any hassle.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very welcoming staff, free car park. Lovely clean room, new bathroom fittings, comfortable bed (new) and pillows. Aired and fresh smelling. Some external noise as near to a major intersection, but acceptable level considering location. Good road and bus links, close to city centre (less than 1 mile) and train station

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had not been overly satisfied with Travelodge's in the past, only stayed at Premier Inn's. Our stay, family -- 1 child and the dog, was excellent. Very welcoming staff, clean room, very comfortable beds, value for money!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We use Travelodges extensively for two main reasons: 1) Disabled parking arrangements are mostly good and 2) We can take our dogs with us. We stayed at Portsmouth TL as we had an early morning cross-channel ferry next morning from the adjacent ferryport. We won't be staying here again.
Upon arrival, (1900hrs) we were unable to park in any of the disabled parking spaces as road maintenance vans were parked in them all. We were then left for over 10 minutes standing outside the front door for over 10 minutes in freezing conditions with a nice view of the deserted main desk. Goodness knows what all the staff were doing. When we were graced by the presence of a staff member and admitted, the staff were unhelpful and unfriendly, totally disinterested in the parking problems. I mentioned that my father-in-law was deaf and may need help in an overnight emergency; the reception staff said that I needed to take a vibrating pillow alerter for him but they didn't know how it worked. The room was supposedly a disabled room but it had an over-bath shower with no anti-slip mat. The room was stuffy but if you opened the window the traffic noise was bad.
We had booked for a second night a week later on our return. Same vans parked in the disabled spaces, same attitude from desk staff. We asked them for the name of the Area Manager to which they replied they didn't know. They then said that they didn't own the car park, so I asked for the name of the owners so I could contact them. Again, 'we don't know who owns it'.
Pathetic. Total disregard for the needs of disabled travellers. They've got your money, that's all they seemed interested in. It is impossible to ring TL to complain: it's entirely on-line and they never reply in person.
We regularly stay at the Four Marks TL about half-an-hour outside the city; great staff, quiet location. We have moved other booked stays to other lodges to avoid this place and the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Services at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

We are sorry to learn that there were not any available disabled car parking spaces when you arrived at the hotel ckeeble. Unfortunately the hotel share the car park with the neighbouring pub and currently we do not require registration numbers on check in. Please be assured that your review has been sent to the Hotel Management team and they are working towards ensuring that this does not happen again. During your stay we would expect staff to be welcoming and friendly, we are very sorry to learn that you did not find this to be the case. Our accessible rooms can vary throughout our hotels due to the age and building regulations of each hotel. The facilities on offer would have met the DDA regulations. Where possible we do try and update the facilities we provide in these rooms. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review when submitting your details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A good place to stay when we got off the Ferry at 9.30 p.m. and didn't want to face a long drive home. It is close to the Ferry terminal and didn't take long to get there. Good value and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

stayed here on new years eve, had a restaurant booking at gunwharf quays in the evening so booked this for £52 a room which was a bargain. It took about 10 minutes to get there in a taxi - but only cost £4 in the day and at 2am only cost £10 - which were i'm from that is a bargain! took a while to find someone to check in as she was on the other side of the hotel, but rooms clean and tidy, other customers were pretty noisy and sounded like there were a heard of elephants upstairs all night that kept me away, but as it was new years i expected this. it seems like the floor is quite hollow, which maybe it should have been soundproofed or thicker especially in the corridoors as we could hear people walking up and down the corridoor above us. but for the money was great, large pub next door which was cheap and cheerful and free large car park

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here one night ,double room,and it was quiet,convenient and spotless , ! The place has just been refurbished, the bedroom was very spacious, as was the bathroom,with fab shower. Have stayed in many Travelodges with job and this was by far the best . Will return .

Room Tip: 133 - new windows ensure silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoowopYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#27 of 39 in Portsmouth
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £41 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing