We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As we were part of a group booking across multiple rooms who thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and convenient location, we would like to thank the staff ( with emphasis on Sue ) who were exceedingly friendly, helpful and of course generous with the late night biscuits. Fondest Regards M, A, G, T, L & B

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    272
    156
    77
    68
See reviews for
295
278
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had a couple of days here in Portsmouth, mixture of business and pleasure found the hotel to be very clean and professional in their appearance and attitude. The bar attached was handy for meals and refreshments. also offered free wi-fi

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as went to visit my sister who's in the navy. She stayed in the hotel too... You expect a Travelodge to be basic because that's what you're paying for so there's not much to comment on in terms of the room (other than that the bed was tiny with the thinnest mattress ever, but could put up with that for one night!).

However, at half three in the morning it was so noisy. Men running up and down the corridors, slamming doors, shouting to each other, knocking on doors etc. Had the worse nights sleep ever! And for this reason in future I will choose Premier Inns over Travelodge if I want a budget hotel. Their great night sleep guarantee ensures that staff don't let this sort of behaviour carry on!

I think this hotel would mainly suit groups of stags and hens - good location, ideal for the city centre. Not ideal if you're relying on a good nights sleep before a very long drive the next day!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have stayed in many Travelodges in various parts of the country. Some have been not so good but not this one. The reception staff were very cheerful and helpful and the rooms very clean. All you need for an overnight stay (or more if necessary). If I had one complaint it would be that the doors could do with a bit of oil to stop squeaking. Being situated next door to Sovereigns pub is very convenient for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked a disabled room, no problems with the booking. The rooms are basic, or should that be minimalistic? Tea and coffee with a kettle for a cuppa.
At night (3am) I was woken by the screaming and shouting (I won't use the language here!!) of several people in the hall way, running up and down the corridor, you can't complain to anyone, as there are no phones in the rooms. We complained to reception on leaving, but it fell on deaf ears The hotel doesn't include breakfast for the price (we paid £55), unlike most b & b's for a similar price we have stayed in before, there is a pub attached, but to be honest for the price the pub charges for brekkie, you would be better to walk around the corner to the Lanyard, where brekkie starts at £1.99 and they do a bacon sandwich for a quid and a cuppa for a quid!
Possible bad points: No hairdryer (for the ladies) and no shower gels/shampoo (so remember to take your own), but there was a tiny soap for your hands. If you want a room with a view, then this is not the hotel for you, if you want a hotel in the heart of North end, then this is ideal.

Room Tip: For less noise, choose a room at end of corridor, away from lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DjMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Having stayed here many, many times, it was good to see that it has had a total refurbishment. The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are newly decorated and look very welcoming. Car parking at this hotel is excellent, and it is very convenient for the port.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
680 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 681 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel was fine for an overnight, not a destination hotel but it was convenient. The room was quite spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was standard Travelodge and there were no complaints. The receptionists were very pleasant and obliging with extra towels etc. The pub next door, Sovereigns, is not good and totally lacked atmosphere and had seen better days on the furnishings side with broken seats etc.
If we were getting the ferry I would certainly stay there again as it is cheap and extremely convenient but one night is enough!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was quiet but the hotel was almost empty the night we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,524 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#26 of 38 in Portsmouth
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Property: Travelodge Portsmouth
Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing