We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We wanted value for money in a well-maintained hotel with good bus links to the Historic Dockyard and that is what we got. Pleased with our stay in this recently refurbished Travelodge. The staff were very approachable and helpful. Access was really easy, just off the main road into Portsmouth. Parking was free and rooms had tea and coffee making facilities and had good sound insulation. The hotel was very close to several bus routes into the town, but you could walk, as we did on one occasion. Breakfast was in the same building, but provided by a different company - £4.99, if I remember correctly, for full English.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

A typical basic Travelodge very close to Channel ferry terminal.
Usual room for this type of accommodation, clean and OK>
Sovereigns on site restaurant serves food to 2200 hrs ( good) food (average) furnishings well passed their best (bad) staff oK.
Hotel car park at rear of building

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is well-located, near the Cross Channel Ferry Terminal as well as a short (20 minute) walk from the Town Centre, and good value for money. There is a good restaurant on-site and their rooms are both modern & comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank KenLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Room was basic but clean, spacious, and light. Welcome was good. Easy to find and ideal for ferry port.

Breakfast is provided by a place next door which doesn't open until 7:30 (limiting for a ferry checkin at 8), and the choice was quite limited.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Macboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I would recommend this Travel Lodge, for its spacious bright room and very comfy bed. The power shower was also fantastic and fairly simple to operate.
My only complaint, and I'm being a little picky, is that the TV had limited channels and no ceefax. Also shower/ hair gel dispenser, found in most hotels was absent. Staff were very polite and friendly and ample free parking also helped make the two night stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kevan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Travelodge is incredibly convenient for the ferries in Portsmouth and is very accessible. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were welcoming. HOWEVER, be very wary of using the pub/restaurant next door for food and drink and expecting equal value for money. The food was pretty mediocre, and overpriced for what it was. Equally, drinks - especially wine - were well above average price for a pub lacking in atmosphere. For atmosphere and good beer, go to the bikers' pub over the road. Can't fault the Travelodge, though - and one of the few hotels to give a 'wake-up call' that was spot on time! Only complaint? You could hear footsteps clearly on the floor above, but that wasn't a major problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rhian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was a bit disappointed with this hotel, having stayed at a few Premier Inns recently, the Travelodge is not as good, in my opinion. The rooms are clean and comfortable but very basic with no toiletries, hairdryer (not even a shower gel attached to the wall). But, I have to say, the guy on reception, Jay, was brilliant, from his lovely warm welcome to his obvious 'happy to do anything for you' attitude, he made our day. This guy should run the whole chain, we came back at about 10.30pm and he was even brushing the outside of the hotel. I wish there were a lot more people like him.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy_Reen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#27 of 39 in Portsmouth
212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,616 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £44 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing