We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location for the ferry port” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great location for the ferry port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Portsmouth Travel Lodge is perfectly placed for foot passengers to the Portsmouth International Ferry Port. It only took us 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to the the Britanny Ferries check-in desk in the main terminal building. Come out of the hotel, turn left and head for the pub across the road, the subway to the port is next to the pub.

Our room was quiet, spacious, clean and comfortable with a bath and a great shower. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Be aware, the contact phone number on the website is dead so we couldn't call the hotel in advance. Also, I found the pillows too hard for my neck so I didn't get a good night's sleep though my partner found them comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank JeanMorgan700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    248
    140
    65
    58
See reviews for
254
248
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
459 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We wanted value for money in a well-maintained hotel with good bus links to the Historic Dockyard and that is what we got. Pleased with our stay in this recently refurbished Travelodge. The staff were very approachable and helpful. Access was really easy, just off the main road into Portsmouth. Parking was free and rooms had tea and coffee making facilities and had good sound insulation. The hotel was very close to several bus routes into the town, but you could walk, as we did on one occasion. Breakfast was in the same building, but provided by a different company - £4.99, if I remember correctly, for full English.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A typical basic Travelodge very close to Channel ferry terminal.
Usual room for this type of accommodation, clean and OK>
Sovereigns on site restaurant serves food to 2200 hrs ( good) food (average) furnishings well passed their best (bad) staff oK.
Hotel car park at rear of building

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is well-located, near the Cross Channel Ferry Terminal as well as a short (20 minute) walk from the Town Centre, and good value for money. There is a good restaurant on-site and their rooms are both modern & comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank KenLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Room was basic but clean, spacious, and light. Welcome was good. Easy to find and ideal for ferry port.

Breakfast is provided by a place next door which doesn't open until 7:30 (limiting for a ferry checkin at 8), and the choice was quite limited.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Macboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I would recommend this Travel Lodge, for its spacious bright room and very comfy bed. The power shower was also fantastic and fairly simple to operate.
My only complaint, and I'm being a little picky, is that the TV had limited channels and no ceefax. Also shower/ hair gel dispenser, found in most hotels was absent. Staff were very polite and friendly and ample free parking also helped make the two night stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kevan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Travelodge is incredibly convenient for the ferries in Portsmouth and is very accessible. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were welcoming. HOWEVER, be very wary of using the pub/restaurant next door for food and drink and expecting equal value for money. The food was pretty mediocre, and overpriced for what it was. Equally, drinks - especially wine - were well above average price for a pub lacking in atmosphere. For atmosphere and good beer, go to the bikers' pub over the road. Can't fault the Travelodge, though - and one of the few hotels to give a 'wake-up call' that was spot on time! Only complaint? You could hear footsteps clearly on the floor above, but that wasn't a major problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rhian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Property: Travelodge Portsmouth
Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing