We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset House Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$143
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
254
295
171
90
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
295
171
90
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry porttravel lodgepub next doorcar parkearly ferryhungry horsepub restaurantplenty of free parkingreception staffovernight stopexcellent locationgood nights sleepcomfortable roomtown centrecomfortable staynight's sleepstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room was hot but there was a fan supplied. Bed was very comfy but the pull out beds for the kids are a little uncomfortable. The connected bar was fab. Great food, great staff and did a cooked breakfast.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This Travelodge is easy to find being just off the M275. Its close to the Ferry Terminal and not too far from the town centre, Gunwarfe Quays shopping and the Historic Dockyard. There is a bus service in to Portsmouth centre from just outside the hotel but for a family of four, its cheaper to drive in.

The hotel itself is a pretty standard travelodge. The actual entrance is tucked away at the back in the far corner of the carpark. The entrance at the front is actually the pub attached to the hotel. We had a family room which, with the two pull out beds set out was big enough ... but only just. The main double bed was reasonably comfortable but an adult userped by a small child in the middle of the night would find the pull out beds a little too narrow and rather too firm.

My main complaint would have to be that the room was far too hot. Those rooms at the front get the sun on them and with the windows limited to opening just a couple of inches (Why????) there is insufficient ventillation. A desk fan was provided. The original was very noisy. A quiter replacement fan helped but it wasn't really enough. I'm not a fan of aircon as it can be noisy and is usually a waste of energy but for this hotel, it would really help.

I note from other reviews that the list was out of order. It was still out of order a week or so later when we arrived. It wasn't a problem for us but I noticed a number of elderly residents struggling with the stairs.

All in all, it was OK, nothing special but if you're after a cheap place to rest your head and nothing else, it'll do the job. Just avoid going in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely woman called Maria. She apologised for the lift being out of ordered but informed us that we were in a second floor room.

We have stayed in travel lodge hotels before, and thought that it would be a safe option because we hadn't stayed in Portsmouth before. Unfortunately the room was disappointing.

The room was a disabled friendly and the disabled hand rails were extremely dirty and badly lime scaled. The bed in the room was two singles pushed together and made up as a double. The beds kept sliding apart which was uncomfortable.

A friendly gentleman tony on reception was very helpful & we appreciated that staff had turned a fan on in our room before arrival.

Overall the hotel is in a good location & the staff friendly. Unfortunately the room isn't up to scratch and neither is the cleanliness. Will have to consider whether to stay in a travelodge in the future.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Norfolk94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very good value,(booked early £77 for two nights, price on the day would have been £98per night)
Trouble with lift, but staff carried luggage up for us,room spacious clean, with plenty of tea and coffee. Bed was up to Travelodge,s usual high standard, although we overlooked the main room the double glazing was very good and eliminated practically all outside noise.For those who wished to sightsee and not drive the bus stop was less than 5 min,s walk, also within close walking distance, a number of cafe,s and resturants including a Weatherspoons.

Room Tip: We had 124 and would request it again
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Paid £94 including 3 breakfast boxes as viewed university with my wife and son. Good points were - decent location, comfortable beds, clean and tidy, polite & helpful staff, large free car park, breakfast boxes a good idea when you are tight for time, shower powerful. Bad points were - lift was out of order so lugging cases up stairs not fun on a hot day, the shower curtain was so flimsy it clung to you, shower steamed up so badly you couldn't see in the mirror, there was no air conditioning so the room was sweltering and the fan clattered so loudly that putting it on defeated the idea of getting good night's sleep. We have become accustomed to using Holiday Inn Express and will continue to do so now.

Room Tip: The some of customers leaving the pub can be annoying. If you want to be undisturbed ask for the car park side. Try out the fan before bedtime.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews