We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have stayed at this lodge a few times before and have always been very pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of it.
A big plus is that it is within a few minutes walk,or drive of the ferry port so you can relax knowing that there is little chance of any delays getting to it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just stayed for 2 nights here. As with all the Travelodges I have stayed in they are clean, basic but adequate.
This was the same apart from the fact the weather was stiffling hot and the rooms have no air conditioning. We only had one electic fan and due to "health and safety" we couldn't open the window more than 2". It was like a flipping sauna and you couldn't escape. We barely slept more than 5 hours and spoilt the next day as we were all so tired.
Ok, so I understand about the safety reasons but seeing as this hotel has recently been refurbished they could at least have put in air conditioning.
Not a good choice to stay in the summer :(

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First impressions: clean, tidy, great location for the ferry port. Free parking. Comfortable beds, all good so far.... No air conditioning however, so on a warm day with a single fan in the room and a window that opens approximately one inch this makes a sweaty box of a room to stay in! We all woke up with headaches and sticky with sweat. Horrible start to the day. What a shame because in most other respects this hotel is absolutely fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank LauraDShrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The bedrooms seem to have very limited airflow causing the rooms to stay at a very hot temperature in warmer weather. Reception had run out of fans. When i stayed the boiler kept breaking down so the hot water supply was intermittent. This hotel seems to be giving Travelodge (a bargain chain) a bad name.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed on 19th July 2014 , I had 4 rooms booked 3 family and 1 double, rooms were clean with coffee and tea facility in the rooms , rooms where very warm , fans where provided ,as the weather was hot, staff friendly , I only £45.00 per room as I booked well in advance so was a bargin

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Clarissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had another good stay in this hotel and the rooms have been refurbished since our previous stay. The staff were very friendly and the hotel is brilliantly situated for the ferry terminal and also close enough to the key areas in Portsmouth.
It also has a good size FREE carpark.
Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Pughy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely comfortable stay in a clean and welcoming Travelodge. The shower was fantastic, I didn't want to get out of it. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and happy to help with anything you need. Very good location.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank JackieW21234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#27 of 39 in Portsmouth
190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing