We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Travelodge 2014”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at the Travelodge in Portsmouth recently whilst en route to France. It was perfectly situated for the ferry port as we had an early start, literally five minutes away. Extremely clean and well presented and they've had the fab idea of taking the duvets off the beds in the recent hot weather but left them in the room just in case! Couldn't fault this stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    267
    146
    67
    64
See reviews for
276
267
27
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The room was like an oven terrible nights sleep had by all. The staff could do no more to help they said the hotel is badly designed and it stores heat. The reception had air con so why not the rest of the hotel? I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmace9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Travelodge was a bargain basement hotel and the accommodation was basic but it was a good place to stay in with easy access to the ferry port. It was a shame that they didn't have any twin-bedded rooms rather than family rooms as I ended up sleeping on the child-size bed. It was very lumpy and not comfortable. Otherwise the room was clean and well serviced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jillh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The welcome cool drinks were a great start to an unbareable night. The small fan that didn't work was quickly replaced although very inefficient in controlling the unbareable temperature in the room. The room was very clean and sufficient for a family of 4 although the hotel seemed to have no air movement, corridors were sweltering and only a restricted window opening enhanced the high temperature. A terrible nights sleep was had by all, I felt ill and the children were up in the middle of the night unable to sleep. My husband said he would have slept better on the grass outside. A great location for the port but not the greatest start to our holiday. Would recommend but not in warm weather!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here 8/9th August to attend a wedding on HMS Warrior. It was very, very hot when we arrived and the complimentary cold drinks laid on in reception were very much appreciated, as was the fan cooling the room. Room was spotlessly clean and the welcome from staff was very friendly. There are two bus stops within walking distance of the hotel so the tourist sports can be easily reached. Will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imtarfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Shame to rate this as poor as the rooms are clean and spacious. The staff were great too and the location is absolutely spot on for a ferry crossing but it is just too hot, which goes way beyond having no aircon. Fix it please!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TJTommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We travelled on a very hot day in July, and when we arrived we realised that the hotel did not have air conditioning. The staff worked very hard to make the situation as bearable as possible by providing fans, but in spite of it all the temperature in the room was very hot. We would have benefitted from air conditioning. On any other day, I would have rated the hotel 5 stars. The service, cleanlines, staff, etc. were all excellent as usual, but air conditioning in the summer should be treated as seriously as heating in the winter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,498 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#26 of 38 in Portsmouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Property: Travelodge Portsmouth
Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing