We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room way to hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Portsmouth
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The room was way too hot all night, they had placed a desk fan on the dressing table but was no use at all. Very uncomfortable night and family very tired all next day. Not a great start to a holiday.

Room Tip: I would use another until air conditioning is installed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 128Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I did not expect such a friendly and cheerful welcome at a travel lodge
The two young ladies on reception were polite and very friendly
The room was fine clean and the bed comfortable
The room was hot but there was a fan
A nice touch there was water and juice in reception
Quite a noisy location as there are currently roadworks near by

Good place for over nighter

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed if you are catching an early morning ferry and want to start the day feeling rested but it was spoilt for us by one thing, the temperature of the rooms. It wasn't even that hot outside but the hotel rooms were almost unbearably hot.

To be fair to the staff they had tried to keep the rooms cool by closing the curtains, a fan was available in the room and the beds just had a sheet on rather than a duvet but it was still uncomfortably hot . This hotel badly needs air cooling.

Even with the convenience of the location I think I would be reluctant to stay here again because we just did not have a very good nights sleep and that was the whole point of staying there, before catching the ferry early in the morning. Instead of feeling rested, as we had planned, we just couldn't wait to get out to cool down. Not the best start to our trip!

Room Tip: There isn't any way to avoid the heat problem at this hotel except to stand in the reception are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at the Travelodge in Portsmouth recently whilst en route to France. It was perfectly situated for the ferry port as we had an early start, literally five minutes away. Extremely clean and well presented and they've had the fab idea of taking the duvets off the beds in the recent hot weather but left them in the room just in case! Couldn't fault this stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The room was like an oven terrible nights sleep had by all. The staff could do no more to help they said the hotel is badly designed and it stores heat. The reception had air con so why not the rest of the hotel? I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jmace9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Travelodge was a bargain basement hotel and the accommodation was basic but it was a good place to stay in with easy access to the ferry port. It was a shame that they didn't have any twin-bedded rooms rather than family rooms as I ended up sleeping on the child-size bed. It was very lumpy and not comfortable. Otherwise the room was clean and well serviced.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jillh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The welcome cool drinks were a great start to an unbareable night. The small fan that didn't work was quickly replaced although very inefficient in controlling the unbareable temperature in the room. The room was very clean and sufficient for a family of 4 although the hotel seemed to have no air movement, corridors were sweltering and only a restricted window opening enhanced the high temperature. A terrible nights sleep was had by all, I felt ill and the children were up in the middle of the night unable to sleep. My husband said he would have slept better on the grass outside. A great location for the port but not the greatest start to our holiday. Would recommend but not in warm weather!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdeleNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#27 of 39 in Portsmouth
189 reviews
2.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing