We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Cakes + Small Venue = Long Wait for Goodies”

The Tenth Hole Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a buzzing little tearooms on Southsea Seafront....adjoined to a 9 hole golf course, we offer scrumptious breakfasts, lunches and delicious cakes! We provide a friendly and relaxed environment, overlooking the golf course, whilst offering freshly prepared meals and cakes. Southsea Golf Links is a 9 hole pitch and putt links course. 'Links course' means 'by the sea' and, as such, the course offers a more challenging environment - due to its exposure to the elements! The course ranges from 50 to 91 metres holes.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cakes + Small Venue = Long Wait for Goodies”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you want delicious cakes then this is by far the best destination in Portsmouth / Southsea.

The problem with being renowned for your cake is that you need a venue big enough to comfortably "house" your customers and I'm sad to say that despite the renovation it's still quite cramped, there's a long queue and then if your really lucky (like I was) you get barricaded in by the mums with *mega prams*. This was made worse by the screaming children and even louder parents. I understand that children do go out with their parents, I can even understand the need to put them in prams and pushchairs. But for me, this kind of atmosphere was awful and it is made worse by the cramped space.

However, the food here is really good ! The cakes are divine ! And the staff are cheerful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    245
    90
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Above Par!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Popped in here Friday lunchtime, nice food especially the cakes, excellent surroundings, quick & efficient staff, overall a good place to experience. We had pulled pork, salmon & cream cheese bagel and a croque madame which was a little bit too cheesy, but still TASTY. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing cakes!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The cakes and breakfasts that were being served all looked fab but I went specifically for the Vegan Raspberry and Passionfruit which was amazing!
Great atmosphere and ambience and friendly staff too.
Will definately be going back....a lot!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ponge69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“If you like cake this is the place to be.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Called in here on an early Wednesday afternoon in August, it was quite busy but not packed. Ordered tea for three and three diffrent cakes. There was far too much tea and the size of the cake portions enormous we had to wrap up some of the cake and bring it home with us, so be aware. Having said that it was good value and both the tea and cakes were very good indeed. Speedy sevice and a range of seatinf options.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Too hot to handle!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Not the weather this time, although it was quite warm. Have been here several times and am impressed with the change re seating etc, no-one standing over you waiting for your table as in the past. One of us had a meal, I had a scone with clotted cream and jam. When I was served this everything slipped off the plate onto the table as it was being put down. This was because the plate was very hot so the food was picked up and taken away and returned on a plate quickly enough for me to think that it was the same food, now plus fingerprints. The cream was still slipping about the plate so I asked for it to be returned on a cold plate, dairy and hot plates do not work. It was all returned on a cold plate with the cream in a pot, which is where it should have been in the first place. It was OK although the jam really let it all down as it was what we used to know as 'mixed fruit' when I was a child...strangely textureless red stuff tasting more then a bit artificial. As other reviewers note, this place has an awful lot going for it although we have found the cakes a bit too sickly in the past so now avoid them. They also serve the best pesto for many miles around. Improving the jam in a dish where jam is the prominent flavour ingredient would only cost pennies more to make it excellent . The sourdough with pesto, hummus etc is already excellent as is the availability of rooibos tea.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesley664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tenth Hole Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Tenth Hole Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing