We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and very 'disabled-friendly'!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent and very 'disabled-friendly'!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We had planned to stay at another well-rated hotel nearby, until one of us broke an ankle and needed a 'stairs-free' vacation.

Despite a bland exterior, this well-staffed and -equipped hotel filled the bill in every respect, except perhaps for price and limited vehicle parking (able-bodied drivers frequently invaded the disabled bays!).

The rooms were very neat and well serviced, and the restaurant and bar were large and pleasant: there is also a Spa which we didn't feel able to visit.

ALL-IN-ALL:the Best Hotel stay we've experienced recently, anywhere.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the lifts, and ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capitalstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review and comments. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our services were in sync with your needs and expectations. Thank you once again and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Portsmouth soon, kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    373
    268
    97
    45
See reviews for
177
375
39
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

As you pull up outside you just know that the inside is going to be as tired as the outside looks. I arrived at reception to check in at 13.50, only to have the receptionist growl at me that check-in wasn't until 2pm. When I pointed out that was only 10 minutes she told me the room was ready anyway! The room itself was an executive room, it had a great view out to sea and a comfortable bed. That's about the extent of the plus points. The carpet is old and badly stained, the curtains are shabby, the mirrors and glasses were all smeary, the bathroom floor was covered in bits, The slippers didn't exist and the bathroom is the smallest I have ever encountered in a hotel. It is not possible to move about without banging into the toilet. Even the door only misses it by about an inch. As for the bath.....well it can't really be called a bath, so pathetically small and of no use as a bath whatsoever. If this was an executive room then god only knows what a standard room must be like. All in all, a disappointing stay. £120 room only is awful value for a hotel of this low standard. The location is great, but you have to think the premier inn across the road would be much better value and quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea. Looking out of the window makes the room seem a little more pleasant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback Andy C. I am truly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, but I can assure you that we have taken your thoughts and comments on board so that we can continually improve all aspects of our hotel services. kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Milton Keynes, Bucks
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Good location, short walk to the seaside (Clarence Pier - I wouldn't bother) and probably 15/20 minutes to Gunwharf Quay.

Nice common areas, didnt try the pool but looked OK
Good front of house staff, bit chaotic restaurant staff

Our room (standard double) was very small but the bed was comfortable and generally quiet (for some reason they have music blasting out by the entrance - but this goes off at 11pm)
The bathroom very small (ie dont open the door if someone is on the loo!)
Water temperature was good, show height too low (but then again most of these over the bath type usually are for me). Bath was a 2/3 type - so dont expect to lie out!

Breakfast was OK, (buffet with cereals, fruit and hot). One problem with buffets is alot of the food was tepid. Also we turned up too late for pastrys (9am on a Sunday!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimBushell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Portsmouth, I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Picking a hotel in Portsmouth/Southsea, having never been to the area before was something of a lottery and in the Holiday Inn we think we did as well as we could have hoped.

The location could hardly be better; within the proverbial stone's throw of the sea (we had a room on the front giving us a view across to the Solent - and the rather grotty Clarence Pier), an easy walk to Gunwharf Quays & the touristy stuff, and several really good pubs dotted around.

The hotel itself was rather bland and souless, but in a good way that you'd expect of a large chain. The staff we encountered were without exception friendly & helpful and the place was spotless.

Didn't have time to try out the pool but the quick look we had it seemed a bit small?

Perhaps the biggest selling point of the Holiday Inn - which they don't seem to shout about - is the ample free parking. In picking the hotel for this weekend break, that seemed in short supply with the rest of the chain hotels in the area (and some of the independents too).

Would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derby_Dave_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your very kind words, I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. It is always such a great motivator to the team to hear of our guests enjoyment and I thank you for taking the time to share this. kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Speedy check in and out and good view from our 6th floor room. The staff were friendly and tried hard, the room was clean but lacking in individuality You may as well save your money and go to the Premier Inn across the road, where we have stayed in the past with a view over the sea. For a better room go to the Queens further along similar price but large seafront room and bathroom. We stayed here as it was so convenient for my husbands meeting and I had a lovely mooch around Southsea's John Lewis store before a walk in the January sun along the front and a welcome cup of coffee at Mozzerella Joe's [very friendly].
Breakfast was okay like the Queens don't bother with the onsite restaurant at the PREMIER but dinner [too cold to venture out and I felt unwell] was a real let down . Nothing on the menu to tempt me several items not available . Husband's steak ok but he had to wait for side of cauliflower cheese some 5 mins and when it came very watery .
Have to pay extra for Internet. Bathroom very small.

Room Tip: Lots of other boutique type hotels to try as well as 2 I mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read you felt the rooms were clean, and you experienced good service from the reception. Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed for a night last night whilst on business in the area. Room was incredibly hot and the air conditioning was either ineffective or broken. The shower leaked water constantly, which meant there was a loud dripping noise all night long, which I simply could not supress despite various attempts to dampen the sound with towels etc. Breakfast was poor, empty trays at the hot buffet (no eggs or bacon) and despite being offered tea or coffee on arrival, it took 15 minutes to get this. Much better options for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
I am truly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience. We will work on the service issues and I know you have sent you information in separately so have ensured that shower has been immediately corrected. The air system in the rooms is heating in winter and cooling in summer, for future reference should you visit please note the radiators in the room can be manually adjusted down and or off in the room to guest preference, and all our windows although distance restricted can be opened for fresh air. Once again my apologies for your disappointment but I thank you for taking the time to feedback so that we can put corrective actions in place. kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Hello everybody, Guten tag, I stayed 2 weeks here and 3 weeks in Holiday Inn Porstmouth and my girlfriend (Spanish) called every night, at no time was she informed that you are charged for incoming calls, as you are transferred when u call reception (landline) free with our telekom contract). I was then informed by parent company ICH, when I called to complain about phone bills, that this does not happen. I was a gold member, 638837779 but I and my company will never use these hotels again. This is also the only hotel group to have the cheek to charge its customers!! Vorsicht wann mann hier bleibt, wann jiemand anrufen will, kostet 10 cent pro minute! Steht nicht im hotel documentation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank del_5146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertsl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your concerns with phone charges. I am sorry your external caller did not realise that calls into the hotel are chargeable at 10p per minute and applicable to network charges. Please note however that on connection to the hotel all callers phoning to the hotel will hear the announcement of the applicable charges for using this phone number. My apologies for any confusion on this. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing