We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn Portsmouth” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Portsmouth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Hotel is well located and from first impressions looks old but ok.
The reception area was nicely laid out.
We booked an executive room which was extremely small but it did feel clean.
The bed was not very comfortable and seemed to dip in the middle. They offer both hard and soft pillows but there is very little difference between them.
The bathroom was small & the fittings seem quite old! Our toilet flush was very poor & would not flush paper away!!
The restaurant was well laid out but food quality not great for the price paid £14.00 for fish & chips!!!
Wifi is NOT included!!! Unless you are in their loyalty scheme at a certain level, you will have to pay!
There does seem enough car parking and spaces are at a premium. However, they do provide a parking voucher is there is not space.
The staff are ok but the seem quite reserved and don't really go the mile for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yellows6269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay. I am truly sorry that this was merely an average stay. Every guest experience is important to us and should you be returning to the hotel in the future please contact me directly so I can personally ensure you experience the true great Holiday Inn Experience. Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    363
    262
    96
    45
See reviews for
176
359
39
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst visiting my partner for his 21st had a really nice room no problems, lovely lady on checkin some lovely people at the bar had a bit of an off experience with a person in the restaurant we felt out of place and the person didn't treat my partner with any respect or great service which was very disappointing. but apart from that was a nice hotel :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jess1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, I was pleased to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, in particular the receptionist on check in. I was very sorry to read of the issue you had with a member of the waiting staff, and I hope you will accept my apologies for this. I have spoken to the team to ensure this never recurs as we truly value all our guests. Thank you again. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Car park was over flowing and had to drive around for ages, eventually I went to check in while husband waited for space in car park. Found out that reception will give you a parking voucher for street parking. Hotel not the most attractive building, but reception was bright with pleasant receptionists. We were upgraded on check in due to platinum membership, to a room on the 5th floor. This is one of the smallest rooms I have experienced in a Holiday Inn, including Holiday Inn Expresses. The bathroom was one of the smallest I have ever experienced in this level of hotel. The room had a good sea view overlooking the Isle of Wight. Pillows could do with being a bit fuller, as even with two it was too low for sleeping. Bathroom not particularly cleaned to a high standard, but had a good selection of toiletries.
Restaurant was very full at breakfast, but very good, edible cooked breakfast and good choice of fruit and cereals.
Would be good if smokers were encouraged to move away from the main entrance of the hotel in order to keep the doors clear and so you don't have to walk through clouds of smoke.
Unfortunately I would not rush back, due to the room size and very tight, small bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Joanne H,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and facilities of the hotel. I also would like to apologize for any inconvenience your restaurant experience may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Then Holiday Inn Portsmouth is a 10min walk from Gunwharf Keys which is excellent for high end shopping and entertainment. Rooms are clean with all the basic amenities and staff are polite and helpful. A well equipped gym and health club available to hotel guests is included in the price, which is great! The jacuzzi a real treat after a shopping spree! It also has a pool, steam room and sauna. My only negative comment is that wifi is not included!

Room Tip: Top floors, sea facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikimotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback, I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your visit, particularly the staff. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to visit our Grandson in Portsmouth.
Hotel location is excellent being very close to Southsea seafront and around a 15 minute walk to Gunnwharf.
Our room was situated on the top floor and had a very good view of the seafront. Rooms are quite basic but very clean and serve there purpose. However, the bathrooms are very small.
Breakfast was of good quality and all of the staff we encountered were very pleasant.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPMNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for a great review, I am so pleased you all enjoyed your visit to the hotel. Quality family time is so very important and I am so very pleased that we could in some small way be part of the great memories for your trip with your grandson to Portsmouth. Thank you also for the great compliment that you would definitely stay again, this is fabulous, thank you. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
237 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked online for two rooms 3 days before getting there but on the morning itself , we checked price and it went whizzing down so we cancelled and re-booked the rooms (you can do that before 4pm) , saving us more than £75 each room. Prices are always more expensive during half term holidays and also whizzing up over weekend, so worth checking prices .
Well located, coming by train it is a short taxi ride from Portsmouth central (less than £4 taxi fare ) or walking around 15mn from Gunwharf Shopping Centre and also Ferry Terminal for Isle of Wight. The building itself is rather plain brick but large breakfast /diner room and Starbuck chain coffee shop on ground floor to reception.Rooms are small but comfy and modernised, very clean , coffee/tea facilities/flat screen TV but no fridge or safe.
Swimming pool is small with separate sauna and steam room - very adequate if visiting with family or winding down - It does accept membership from outside so could be busy at times.
Breakfast was good but very busy. Although I must say that on the 2 days I stayed there, the pastries were finished 45 mn before end of breakfast time and not replaced, the hot dishes such as scrambles, sausages, beans, there was always something missing or running out of ...needed to be refilled.
On the two occasions we had breakfast it was definitively understaffed as we waited over 10 mn for a table and there were 25 people in the queue. Staff in restaurant were polite and considerate , very busy but we did not have our tea served as requested after 25mn waiting at the table . We decided to have tea in our room. Clearly a serious management issue for allocating staff - why not using self service tea pot and tea bags/coffee ? All we need is hot water, a mug and tea bags !!! Same with the reception area, just in front the reception there could be room for some armchairs when awaiting for taxi or to get served on busy day ... I felt like loitering the reception area when it was busy , just standing there... People are standing there, are they going ? Are they queuing for reception ? Are they waiting for someone ?The Star bucks had tables too but there were at times full of dishes and breakfast clearing . The lifts also were pretty busy at times especially breakfast time - Only 2 people with luggage could fit in the two lifts . Car park seems to be very busy .
At the end, I did like the hotel and its location, the rooms were adequate but this hotel can't cope with being full. Management needs to improve and make some changes. If I find another hotel withing the same range of price, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sierrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay particularly on one of the busiest weekends in Portsmouth. I am sorry to read there were aspects you felt let us down, and these points have been passed to the heads of departments as part of their ongoing program for improvements going forward. Thank you again, kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked this hotel not realising that the great south race was taking place this weekend, so when we arrived to check in there was some confusion as it seems they did not receive our booking (through another booking agent) We were eventually told to take a seat in the lounge and after about 20 minutes the reservations manager came to us and told us he had a room for us. Considering the hotel was completely booked out, we were glad, (but a cuppa on the house would have been nice!).Manager was very professional in dealing with guests as were all reception staff. The room was nice as was the bathroom. Nice flat -screen TV and comfy bed with choice of pillows. There was a hairdryer in bedroom and tea making facilities. but no mini-bar. This was the weekend of the big storms so we stayed in hotel on the Sunday night and dined in the hotel restaurant which was ok.Very dark though and difficult to read menu. Food nice and not too expensive. Waiting staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good with a big choice. We didn't get a chance to use the leisure centre but it looked nice from what we could see. The hotel is in a good location as you have Southsea beach just a few minutes walk from the hotel and Portsmouth Quays and Gunwharf Quays a 15 min walk in the other direction. There was a very nice pub called the Pembroke which we visited on the Saturday night and there was a two piece band playing and a great atmosphere. Apart from the atrocious weather, we had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend it for anyone visiting Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovindub8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, despite the slight confusion over your booking to begin with. Great to see it was all fixed for you and that everything else with your stay went very well. Thank you also for your recommendation to others, this is very much appreciated. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing