We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We used the Holiday Inn Portsmouth as a night stop-over whilst visiting the Guildhall for a concert. The first thing that struck me was the excellent customer service at the check-in. The room was very clean and ideal for a one night stop over which included HD TV. Some of the décor could be upgraded in the room, but hey this ain't four in a bed and overall it was in good order, and as I said spotlessly clean. We did not eat there as I consider £12 for a burger a bit of a cheek and I feel sure that if they were more reasonable on price they would make more money out of the restaurant. On check out once again the staff were superb.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIGHTWOODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Everything was nice and clean, service was great. Staff friendly. Rooms are a nice size.

Food was nice too.

Swimming pool, steam & sauna lovely.

Perfect for our stay on a budget. I would recommend. Nothing bad to say.

I haven't given 5 stars because it's not a 5 star hotel in terms of decor. But it was a pleasure to stay at :)

I would come back again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you do much for your fabulous review, I am so pleased to read your visit was ideal for you and that you enjoyed every aspect. I also truly appreciate your note that you will be back, we could not ask for a greater compliment, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for one night for a quick shopping trip to GunWharf Quays (which is a ten minute walk away).
When we first pulled up we were pleasantly surprised as we thought the hotel looked ok for what we had paid.
The reception and bar area was ok for a hotel of this standard but our room was the big let down.
The bedroom did have some sort of aircon (with good instructions printed next to it) but you could only have hot air or no air, so no control over the temperature. I did complain about the heat but was told to turn the radiators off and open the window (thanks!).
The bathroom was dated and dirty. When getting out of the shower (over the bath) I warned the wife not to look down. It was one of the hairiest floors I'd seen in some time. Also the extractor fan was covered in dust, doubt this had ever been cleaned.
Bedroom carpet was also stained and looked dirty.
Poor quality bed linen, rather disappointing.
This was a cheap one night stay but it was not worth the money. Will try the premierinn next time we are here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. The heating throughout the hotel during mid winter is via individual room radiator system, which is why to stop your room being heated you were advised to to control it from your in room heater. I am very sorry to read that your rooms had not been cleaned to specification and I have passed your comments to our housekeeper to ensures that does not recur. Thank you again for your comments, all of which are noted and we will use as part of our ongoing program for self improvement. Kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. On both occasions I have been comfortable, although no Platinum privileges were given either time.
My room was quiet & clean and the bed was good - most important!
The restaurant experience wasn't the best due to delivery of main course before I had finished my starter plus an item was missing from this. However, I was given my drink free because of this - the resolution was much appreciated :-)
On the whole, most of the staff were pleasant & helpful, and I felt the hotel was of good value compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soutenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. As a return guest and platinum IHG rewards member, I truly appreciate your taking the time to share your great review. In regards to your welcome points, please contact the hotel directly with your details and I will ensure they have been processed for you. Thank you again. Kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel is fine, clean and the staff are friendly. Gym is good but parking can be a bit of a pain. Location is generally OK, with nice walks on sea front and shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found the hotel suited your needs. I am very pleased you found the hotel clean and the team friendly. I am sorry however that it was only an average experience for you, I assure you we will continue to work hard to ensure should you return you will find your stay more than average. Kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

When we got there the car park wasnt very big had to wait for a space and then had to reverse round the back to let someone out as it was impossible for u to turn round ,the staff were not very friendly did not speak unless spoken to and the manager of reception did not make eye contact when speaking to him,the room was lovely apart from having a dirty mark on the bed cover and the lampshades above bed had marks all around the bottom and the second night we went for dinner we were not told about the two parties that were going on and we were put in a room at the back of the hotel to have dinner and meals we did have were lovely

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your visit. I am sorry to read there were some aspects that were not to your liking. I was very pleased to read that you did enjoy your dinner albeit in a different location in the hotel. I have spoken with the Reception manager regarding your comments and I can assure you that he was most upset to think he had inadvertently caused you any concern and offers also his sincere apologies. Thank you again for your feedback, kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

On arrival, two of the four rooms booked were not ready for occupation and we had to wait until 4.45 p.m. (check in supposed to be from 2.00 p.m.). Very disappointing meal on the second evening. Cold soup,one of the main courses unacceptable (did offer to discuss it with the chef - who did not appear) and exceptionally poor service. One of the staff did come and apologise when we complained and offered reparation to put things right. Duty Manager totally avoided us. The restaurant was not busy. Bedrooms clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Eat dinner elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenden a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Firstly my apologies that you did not enjoy all aspects of your visit. Although rare, there are times when on Sunday's some guests do not check out at the correct time which can delay us turning the room around for a check in, and because of your specific room requests we were unable to move your room to a different location. I was also sorry that the dinner on the second evening was not to standard, I believe the restaurant supervisor who you spoke with did ensure you did not pay for these items, however I apologise that the Duty Manager did not also visit your table. The restaurant Manager and chef have worked on these issues to ensure they do not recur. Thank you again, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £89 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing