We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 13 February 2014

First time I have stayed anywhere in Portsmouth so was unsure about where to stay. Having stayed at other Holiday Inn hotels around the country thought it would be a good place to start. I arrived very late but that was no issue. I was made to feel welcome and when I asked for something it came very quickly. The room was a very good size and very comfortable. I had no issues with the cleanliness of the hotel. Breakfast was good but a downside to the breakfast was that the bacon looked to be very dry. I will have no issue staying here again but have taken note about other comments.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireTeddybear03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Portsmouth, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room clean and comfortable. I am sorry for the issue with the bacon, I will pass on your comments to my chefs.
I do hope you will stay with us again very soon and again thank you for your positive feedback.

Kind regards, Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

most hotel staff were exceptionaly friendly and helpful, the room was clean, nice bar area, good facilities, swimming pool ect, great location close to local amenities, only problem we had was my friend tried to order a sandwich past midnight and was refused by night staff even though in brocher it states 24h service

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysideup66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

I am sorry we were not able to provide your friend with a sandwich after midnight, I will certainly investigate the reason for this. However I would like to thank you for your positive comments, I was pleased to note you enjoyed our hotel facilities including the swimming pool.

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Portsmouth soon.

Regards Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed just the one night. It is what it is .Ok so paid for the upgrade £15 pounds for room with a view (which was lovely) and 1 Kit Kat and 2 bottles of sparkling water, was charged for packet of peanuts,Mars Bar,which I thought a little harsh as thought things in fridge were all part of the upgrade. Room ok a little on the small side but adequate. Staff all friendly and polite. Breakfast good value. Would stay again. But Upgrade? Maybe not!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms level 6 offer good views if facing South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to let us have your feedback on your recent stay at this hotel. I am very sorry that it was not explained to you that the room upgrade does not include mini bar items. Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your room and breakfast, we hope you will come back to us soon. Regards, Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I believe in sharing honesty especially with feedback. I stayed at this hotel on the weekend of 18.01.2014 and I checked in quick since i had been booked out from Holiday inn express. I checked in a room which had human dung in the toliet. This was very much unacceptable but i managed to change rooms but still, i was not happy with the state of the room. It was smelling like smoke. The hotel is really nice becuase it has got a swimming pool, jaccuzi and a gym. Just a few you would find with such facility.
I would say go to this hotel if you do not expect much from their room standard. Its just basic or maybe itsb the room i was checked in.
I am happy with night staff at the bar,. It was 2 gentlement there and also room service was fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tawanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was very sorry indeed to note the condition of your bathroom, as you say this was unacceptable. As the new GM at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth, I am committed to ensuring the necessary improvements are put in place throughout the hotel. I was however pleased to note you enjoyed our Leisure club facilities and hope you will return to us soon.

Kind regards, Cormac O'Keefe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis whilst working away. Sadly its the best of a bad bunch in Portsmouth. The rooms are average some are better than others and have been updated recently. You take your chances at reception usually the staff are OK but one person is generally rude and unhelpful. As an IHG member you get no benefits, no upgrades and sometimes do not get the free drink or bonus points on arrival. Every morning at breakfast you are asked if you want tea or coffee. Unless David is on you wont get any unless you ask again after about 5 minutes. If you want poached eggs be prepared for a very long wait. This could and should be a nice hotel but some of the staff let it down badly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lysander69uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear lysander69uk,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments about the room conditions and the variety of breakfast choices have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I am an IHG Ambassdor and on check in was advised I had been upgraded to an Executive room. If this is the best the hotel has to offer I feel sorry for everyone else.

The room was very small and in serious need of updating. There was a strong smell of urine in the bathroom and this is because there are issues with the toilet's flush.

I believe some of the rooms have views of the sea - ours was a pretty dismal view .

The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows all need throwing away.

The staff on reception were very good and professional beyond the establishment they are working in.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Bridgehouse_10,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Ambassador member. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth in mid-November, 2013 on our vacation. Our main reason for visiting was to see the military history associated with this area of the country, including several historic warships, an excellent D-Day Landing Museum, and nearby Southwick House. We found Portsmouth to be an enjoyable city - not too big, relatively easy to walk & situated right on the harbor with views into the bay that leads to the English Channel. We also spent several evenings at an outside shopping center next to the Harbor called The Gunwharf Quay, which had a good selection of restaurants and shops, and was nicely decorated for the holidays.

As for the Holiday Inn, we were able to secure a room that included breakfast for two. We chose to walk to the hotel from the train station, which took just over 20 minutes and had us completing our journey in a residential neighborhood. The hotel is in a quiet area, and we always felt safe walking around, but there is not much to do around the hotel in the evening. If you are looking for lodging nearer to nightlife, we would recommend you consider the Holiday Inn Express located right next to The Gunwharf Quay shopping & entertainment center, and a 5 minute walk to the train station (Portsmouth The Hard).

Positives:
+ Quiet location, located in more of a residential area. A 5 minute walk to the Clarence Pier (carnival & video games, great for kids & families) and the sea wall. Also, was about a 20 minute walk to the D-Day Museum (opposite direction from the Harbor).
+ Just about equidistant walking time/distance (20 minutes) between the two main train stations, Portsmouth South Sea and Portsmouth The Hard (which is the one next to the harbor).
+ Pool on-site, indoor
+ Reasonably affordable. We paid ~ $200/night, including breakfast for two.


Negatives:
- Location in relation to the train station, approximately a 20 minute walk.
- Small room, even for England. But it did have the basic amenities.
- No free wi-fi unless you are a Holiday Inn hotel chain member with status. We paid 5 gbp/hour.
- Average breakfast, especially an over-promise on the typically-runny egg choices. Otherwise, a standard selection of breads, cereal, breakfast meats and pastries.
- Fitness facility was small. About 6 pieces of cardio equipment (treadmill & elliptical), but only a few machines for weight training.
- Definitely not a modern hotel. Decor was basic, no frills and the building almost seemed to be a converted apartment building.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiteSeekers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear SiteSeekers2000,

Thank you for your candid feedback. It is unfortunate you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations and location of our hotel, but we are pleased your sightseeing event was a highlight. We are also pleased you did enjoy our onsite pool. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel, and your feedback will help us to do so.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
950 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £70 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing