We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Lodge Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Travel Lodge Standard”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The property is tired and should really not be a Holiday Inn at all. For a very medioaca room we were expected to pay £128 where you had to beg for toiletries - we just asked for another shower gel as we like to shower twice a day and we asked for a shower cap which was not in the room but were almost questioned as though it was our fault and the same with tissues which had not been refilled.

Cheap and nasty toilet paper

Very Helpful with printing on line Vouchers / Tickets. Breakfast was very good

It really was a budget hotel but at a silly price

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GX_Traveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to give your feedback. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We do strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests and are concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.
We were pleased, however, to note that you enjoyed breakfast.

Kind regards, Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    383
    275
    102
    47
See reviews for
186
386
41
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I spent 3 nights here for work purposes. I found it to be a nice hotel, with an open plan and pleasant bar area just adjacent to reception and a large restaurant, no need to book. My room was perfectly adequate and clean. The bathroom was small and although I am only 5 feet tall, I couldn't straighten my legs in the bath. I do agree that the rooms are quite tired - heavily varnished teak bedside tables and wardrobes and heavy, dark curtains.
The staff were all lovely and breakfast was very nice with a buffet for everything including cooked. Tea and coffee were table service.
As a vegetarian, I was very disappointed with the evening meal - I didn't like the combination of pasta, sun-dried tomatoes, goats cheese and red onion and the quinoa salad was a pile of rocket, a few tomatoes and a bit of goats cheese, no dressing. It was very over-priced at £10 for a main!
Otherwise, not enough parking as commented upon by others and I ended up on the road -the car was fine but I did worry.
I'd stay again as it was easy, lovely staff, no real concerns and reasonably easy to sat-nav to!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to send a review on your stay to Trip Advisor. I am sorry that not everything was to your complete satisfaction. I can assure you that my team and I will continue to work very hard to ensure that should you return, you will find your stay more than average. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards, Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night, building very nice, staff very helpful. Room rate displayed us affortune (we didn't pay that as booked via late rooms)

We dined in the restaurant and bought a meal deal voucher from reception, 3 courses and 3 drinks for £30. The food was exquisite....! Five star!

Room was adequate, to be fair I just wanted a bed and bath for the night..

Tv you needed a degree to fathom the remote control.

Bathroom was a tad shabby, grouting all smeared over bath tiles, rusty water stains in the bath and shower curtain was dingey... But I just needed a bath and loo and room was ok for that.

Breakfast was buffet style and very nice.

On the whole enjoyable stay.. Glad I didn't pay the standard rate, but would use thus hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. I was pleased to note that your stay with us was satisfactory and that you enjoyed the food, your comments regarding this will be passed to our Chefs. Regarding your bathroom I am so sorry that not everything was perfect for you but this will be fed back to my Maintenance team who will ensure that the necessary improvements are made.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Fantastic location - great for an overnight before catching the ferry home to Jersey. Not luxurious but not expensive and a perfect centre for visiting the historic parts of Portsmouth on foot. Superb choice of restaurants nearby. Pleasant staff - receptionist a bit aloof. Breakfast simple but good. Couldn't give a 'very good' for cleanliness because common areas carpets very badly soiled (Why?) but room spotless and comfortable. No bath only shower but that was perfect for me. Everything you could need for a fair price.

Room Tip: Ask for a low number room if walking difficult - bit of a hike to the high number rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your very valuable feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay at this hotel but have taken on board your comments regarding other areas. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards, Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Location was OK for a weekend visit to friends. Rooms are small and in need of redecoration.

Parking also a problem given that the hotel has a pool and fitness facilities and offers membership arrangements, so lots of people taking spaces that guests would normally use.

Not cheap and therefore will seek another hotel for my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Your comment regarding the room condition has been documented and I am confident the necessary adjustments will be made so that all our rooms are to the correct standard which our guests have every right to expect.
Regarding parking, unfortunately we don't have a large car park but parking permits for free parking are available at our reception for resident guests, these can be used on the road at the front of the hotel, including the small car park opposite and also on Pembroke Road to the side of the hotel. These areas are very rarely full.
I do hope you will reconsider and give us another chance some time in the future.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just stayed at the Holiday Inn in Portsmouth with friends for the weekend. We booked two rooms and had them interconnecting which was absolutely perfect as we kept the door open all the time so it was like one huge room.
It was fairly easy to check in and we were upgraded to an executive room which was a bonus. The room was spotless and the bathroom had all the amenities which were needed. We had a fridge in the room which was great. A large flat screen tv on the wall.
Really happy and had a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campervan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to give us this fabulous review. I am so pleased to note your visit was ideal for you and that you enjoyed every aspect. I do hope you will come back to us very soon.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spent the weekend with 3 other friends in Portsmouth.
All of us are ex-colleagues who worked together about 4 years ago and meet up every year for a weekend.
Hotel was great, very welcoming, staff were excellent, and nothing was too much trouble.
We had two twin rooms, which to be honest were a bit on the snug side, but we only spent about 7 hrs sleeping in them anyway.
This hotel is only about 10 minutes walk from Gunwharf, this was where we spent out evenings eating, drinking and enjoying the atmosphere.
The leisure facilities at the hotel are good, and a early morning swim for some of our party was just the ticket.
Breakfast was good and reasonably priced.
I will return, maybe next time with my wife, as she would love the retail therapy at Gunwharf Quay.

Room Tip: Drinks are quite expensive in the hotel, and are not much better at Gunwharf, but some of the bars d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our leisure facilities. We are lucky to have Gunwharf and the Historic Dockyard nearby for our guests to enjoy. I'm also glad our staff were helpful. I do hope you will return with your wife very soon.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,197 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing