We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rydeview Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sandringham Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
201
424
301
111
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
424
301
111
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinegunwharf quaysexecutive roomhealth clubswimming poolsauna and steam roomminute walkthe hotel car parkleisure centresea frontclarence pierisle of wightshort breakquiet locationfamily roomspinnaker towercomfortable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here due to attending a wedding reception at a near by venue. Good location near Southsea Seafront and very near amusement fair. Ideal location for visiting other areas of Portsmouth like the Historic Dockyard with the Mary Rose, Old Portsmouth, D Day museum and lots more. Being a Platinum IHG Member i did not notice a priority desk on check in and had to wait around 15 minutes to check in has there was large groups checking in at the time i arrived. I was recognized as a IHG platinum member by the reception staff. Hotel has limited parking and had to park on the road outside the hotel, was given a parking permit which i had to display in the car which allowed me free parking. The hotel was clean and tidy, i had booked two family rooms which both were of a fair size which turned out of a bit of a over kill for us but was the same price as a normal room. Purchased breakfast vouchers on check in which were cheaper then purchasing them in the restaurant. Breakfast was good and first time i had seen a waffle making machine in a Holiday Inn so you could make fresh waffles.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_02_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and I am pleased to note that most aspects of your stay were satisfactory. I am very sorry that you had to wait to check in due to the arrival of a group, I do hope you were not kept waiting too long. We do hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards, Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A very enjoyable experience in a scenically beautiful location, The Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, Just a short walking distance to the beach, main shopping areas and the wonderful historical dockyard which i highly recommend if you haven't been since the arrival of new Mary Rose museum. will visit again soon, many thanks.

Room Tip: Recommend the 5th floor for a beautiful view of the coast
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us this great review. We are always happy when guests enjoy their stay with us and it is a great compliment to us when they wish to come back.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards, Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff, from the moment you arrive at Reception until you depart. The downside is that parking can be interesting at times, but you can park on the street. Plus the size of the bath if you are average height.

Easy walking distance for the historic parts of Portsmouth harbour and many rooms have views out over the water. Plenty of places nearby to eat out at, or get over to Gunwharf Quay for more chooice.

Some rooms are better than others, which you find at most hotels that have a high level of use.

Room Tip: See if you can get a sea view room, if required that have facilities for the less able bodied.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. We are indeed lucky to be situated a few minutes from the sea and in an area of Portsmouth where there is so much to see and do.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us your views, we hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards, Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lovely open view of the Solent from our well-kept and quiet room on the fifth floor. Good situation for Old Portsmouth, a short taxi ride to Gunwharf Quay and the Dockyard attractions. Most helpful and welcoming reception. Quiet a/c.

Room Tip: We recommend an upper floor room with a Solent view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsdvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thankyou very much indeed for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and all the attractions in the surrounding area. I do hope you will come and stay with again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards, Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The property is tired and should really not be a Holiday Inn at all. For a very medioaca room we were expected to pay £128 where you had to beg for toiletries - we just asked for another shower gel as we like to shower twice a day and we asked for a shower cap which was not in the room but were almost questioned as though it was our fault and the same with tissues which had not been refilled.

Cheap and nasty toilet paper

Very Helpful with printing on line Vouchers / Tickets. Breakfast was very good

It really was a budget hotel but at a silly price

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GX_Traveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to give your feedback. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We do strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests and are concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.
We were pleased, however, to note that you enjoyed breakfast.

Kind regards, Cormac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews