We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for one night on 4 May 2014. We found the staff very welcoming on arrival. The room was very pleasant with lovely views over the Solent. The hotel is well situated for a walk to Gunwharf Quays. We liked the hotel very much and whilst we didn't eat there would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Solent have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us this great review. I am so pleased that you found our staff to be welcoming and that you enjoyed the views over the Solent from your bedroom. We are indeed lucky to be placed in such a great location.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Cormac O'Keefe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed mid week for business. I think as far as business type hotels go this one is OK. I didn't have dinner there as the quay is a ten minute walk away, but had breakfast, which was OK. Only thing I would note is the annoying off-putting music as you walk into the place is blaring outside, and it's weird and annoying! Never seen this at Holiday Inn before, and I can't understand why they have it.

But on the plus side the people at the front desk are friendly adn helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad_Madam_Nim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased that you found our reception staff friendly and helpful and that most other aspects of your stay were acceptable to you. Regarding the music, I will check with my maintenance team to ensure that the volume of this is not too loud, thank you for bringing it to our attention and again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Cormac O'Keefe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we went here for a naval reunion, the hotel is lovely, it has a really nice eating area, bar area and a lovely swimming pool, when I go back to Portsmouth again will definitely stay here. there were a few of us and all said how nice it was.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kefaloskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous review . We are so pleased to note that you intend to stay with us again when you come back to Portsmouth and also happy that your friends enjoyed the hotel too. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Other reviewers have got it right, We stayed only because of its position,Paid for an upgrade of £18 per night on top floor The air conditioning did not work [ our car air con would be more effective] The Holiday Inn illuminated sign on the main roof light our room up like Christmas through the window, we ended up pulling the heavy curtains cutting off the fresh air from the window , We did report the problem to reception but there was no improvement,Not impressed by the dineing experiance, Overall we felt theHoliday Inn was very expensive certanly not to be repeated
SHOULD HAVE PAID MORE ATENTION TO OTHER REVIEWS

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madderdooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion but please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be used to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests in the future.
Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for one night, as we had an early morning ferry to catch. Must I say what a lovely stay the staff were so friendly and helpful especially Shima on front desk very professional. The rooms were a bit small and outdated but still very clean and confirmable. Would definitely come back hopefully for a whole weekend with the family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. I will pass on your kind comments to my staff and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time.
Thank you again for your great review
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel great location walking distance to all shops and riverside restaurants . Very clean and service was excellent . Will definitely book again !i lovely breakfast everything you could wish for and more even make your own pancake machine !!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us this excellent review, I am so pleased you found the hotel to your liking , especially breakfast and our pancake machine. I am also delighted that you intend to return to us in the future. Thank you again
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I was booked there by my University and looked forward to my stay since Holiday Inns have a very good reputation and location was very good.
However I found the room/bathroom not any better than the cheaper hotel chains like Travelodge/Premier Inn. Moreover, it obviously was overdue for a refurbishment. The ground floor has been well-refurbished, though. Drinks were very expensive, wifi was £16 per day(!) so didn't use and breakfast didn't make use of good quality ingredients.
It didn't leave up to expectations and represented poor value for money... and they were full!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AscotHouseHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I was sorry to note that you did not find the room and bathroom to your liking but please be assured that we have noted your comments. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and your feedback will help us to do so.
Kind regards, Cormac O'Keefe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,290 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £63 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing