We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor customer service...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Even though the hotel advertises leisure facilities, the temporary shut down of the pool, sauna and steam were not advertised on the website. We only found out when we got there as we asked about the opening hours. It sounded as if they were trying to hide this information from the customers.
We said we were not happy about it, as these facilities were one of the main reasons why we had booked this hotel. We were not offered compensation at all, not even free internet, when we said we were leaving. They prefered to lose 2 nights occupancy instead.
We will not book with them again...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am so sorry that the pool had to be closed suddenly due to glass entering it and the surrounding areas. Please be assured that we did our very best to quickly inform as many guests as possible of the situation via our local website and by letter at Reception but obviously it was not possible to pre-warn everyone and I am sorry you did not receive any communication regarding this.
If you would care to get in touch with the hotel via our website we will of course refund your internet charges. We look forward to hearing from you.

Again, profuse apologies

Cormac O'Keefe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have been to this hotel on a few occasions whilst in the city for business trips. It is a good hotel with a good location. I found the room very small even though I was upgraded to an executive room and was a single occupant.

The view was quite nice from some of the rooms but this was a little hit and miss. The restaurant and gym/pool were good and what you would expect from a holiday inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_mojo_risenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found most aspects of your stay to your satisfaction especially the location, the restaurant and the pool area.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Cormac, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We hired 3 conference rooms at the holiday inn for 4 days in May. The rooms were perfect for what we needed. At times the staff at the main reception were slightly abrupt and a bit huffy when we asked for assistant. However Mark, who seemed to be in charge of the conference rooms couldn't have been more attentive if he tried. He really went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed. His customer service is of the highest standard. He was always happy and extremely willing to help. Mark said he has been working at the holiday inn for over 30 years, he is still so enthusiastic and I hope he gets the recognition he deserves. Thank you Mark!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorbJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I was very happy to note that your conference went well and will certainly pass on your comments rearding the excellent service from Mark. Mark has worked at this hotel for 38 years and is a great asset to the hotel. I am sorry that you did not find our reception staff as helpful, this is unusual and I will certainly take up the matter with the department manager.
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this excellent review.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Holiday Inn Hotel for 3 days. The hotel is very clean and all the staff are very accomodating. The plus side they got a swimming pool with spa and a gym. We are a group of 11 and we stay are rm 106 to 108 from Good friday till Easter Monday. The place is highly Recommendable and good value for money and we had a good breakfast. We are looking forward to stay there again..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stigs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for giving us this fabulous review, I am so pleased to reaqd your visit was ideal for you and the rest of your group. I also truly appreciate your note that you will be back, we could not ask for a greater compliment. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for one night on 4 May 2014. We found the staff very welcoming on arrival. The room was very pleasant with lovely views over the Solent. The hotel is well situated for a walk to Gunwharf Quays. We liked the hotel very much and whilst we didn't eat there would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Solent have a lovely view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us this great review. I am so pleased that you found our staff to be welcoming and that you enjoyed the views over the Solent from your bedroom. We are indeed lucky to be placed in such a great location.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Cormac O'Keefe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed mid week for business. I think as far as business type hotels go this one is OK. I didn't have dinner there as the quay is a ten minute walk away, but had breakfast, which was OK. Only thing I would note is the annoying off-putting music as you walk into the place is blaring outside, and it's weird and annoying! Never seen this at Holiday Inn before, and I can't understand why they have it.

But on the plus side the people at the front desk are friendly adn helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad_Madam_Nim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased that you found our reception staff friendly and helpful and that most other aspects of your stay were acceptable to you. Regarding the music, I will check with my maintenance team to ensure that the volume of this is not too loud, thank you for bringing it to our attention and again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Cormac O'Keefe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we went here for a naval reunion, the hotel is lovely, it has a really nice eating area, bar area and a lovely swimming pool, when I go back to Portsmouth again will definitely stay here. there were a few of us and all said how nice it was.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kefaloskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous review . We are so pleased to note that you intend to stay with us again when you come back to Portsmouth and also happy that your friends enjoyed the hotel too. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 39 in Portsmouth
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £87 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing