We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“An OK place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is an older looking Holiday Inn with its' own car park, situated about twenty minutes drive off the M275 near the seafront in Portsmouth. The sea is only five minutes walk away with its' normal assortment of little rock and souvenir shops, take away food and a small fun fair. This is also where you can pick up the hover to the Isle of Wight.

We had a standard room on the sixth floor which was fine, apart from the fact is smelt a bit stale, as though someone had been smoking in there.

Room service wasn't great, and the quality of food was quite average. I had a veggie burger which was served with a couple of sad looking pieces of lettuce and tomato, a burnt roll and a few chips, and my husband had the Louisiana chicken with coleslaw and corn on the cob (apart from the fact that the corn con the cob only showed up after we had rung down to ask about it - apparently the chef 'forgot'). All is all with the tray charge of £3 it came out at around £28. If we ever stay again would go and pick up fish and chips at the sea front instead.

Staff were generally ok, but a particular shout out for Alec, who was both friendly and informative with regard to directions to the continental ferry terminal. They all also provide you will a map, and draw the route on. With no traffic, we left at 6.30 am it took about ten minutes to drive and there is a garage to fill up your car on the way, at a busier time of day would leave at least twenty minutes though.

Internet is payable here for twenty four hours at a charge of £12.95 - very expensive in my view, although you can use it for two devices.

All in all an ok place to stay if you are catching a ferry to Spain or France, as long as you don't expect too much and eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that some aspects of your stay were not to your satisfaction, I will forward your comments to the departments concerned for their attention and I am confident that the necessasry adjustments will be made in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. I will also pass on your positive comments to Alec.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Kind regards, Cormac O'Keefe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    370
    266
    96
    46
See reviews for
177
368
39
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Check in OK but we didn't receive any info about the hotel facilities & check out time.
The room was a little dated but very clean and of an OK size.
The bar area & restaurant were nice,well staffed and the breakfast quality was good.
The hotel is in a great location close to Old Portsmouth and around a ten minuet walk from Gun Wharf Quays.
We payed quite a lot for our one night stay but as it was the D Day commemorative weekend the hotel seemed busy so the higher cost was acceptable.
Well recommended for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillieMiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Many thanks for your review and for recommending our hotel. I am pleased to note you enjoyed most aspects of your stay on the commemorative D Day weekend. I am sorry you did not receive the information regarding the hotel when you checked in, I will pass this to my Reception team as we do have information sheets and an information point in our lobby and they should have pointed this out to you.
I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards, Cormac O'Keefe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Even though the hotel advertises leisure facilities, the temporary shut down of the pool, sauna and steam were not advertised on the website. We only found out when we got there as we asked about the opening hours. It sounded as if they were trying to hide this information from the customers.
We said we were not happy about it, as these facilities were one of the main reasons why we had booked this hotel. We were not offered compensation at all, not even free internet, when we said we were leaving. They prefered to lose 2 nights occupancy instead.
We will not book with them again...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am so sorry that the pool had to be closed suddenly due to glass entering it and the surrounding areas. Please be assured that we did our very best to quickly inform as many guests as possible of the situation via our local website and by letter at Reception but obviously it was not possible to pre-warn everyone and I am sorry you did not receive any communication regarding this.
If you would care to get in touch with the hotel via our website we will of course refund your internet charges. We look forward to hearing from you.

Again, profuse apologies

Cormac O'Keefe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have been to this hotel on a few occasions whilst in the city for business trips. It is a good hotel with a good location. I found the room very small even though I was upgraded to an executive room and was a single occupant.

The view was quite nice from some of the rooms but this was a little hit and miss. The restaurant and gym/pool were good and what you would expect from a holiday inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_mojo_risenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found most aspects of your stay to your satisfaction especially the location, the restaurant and the pool area.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We hired 3 conference rooms at the holiday inn for 4 days in May. The rooms were perfect for what we needed. At times the staff at the main reception were slightly abrupt and a bit huffy when we asked for assistant. However Mark, who seemed to be in charge of the conference rooms couldn't have been more attentive if he tried. He really went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed. His customer service is of the highest standard. He was always happy and extremely willing to help. Mark said he has been working at the holiday inn for over 30 years, he is still so enthusiastic and I hope he gets the recognition he deserves. Thank you Mark!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorbJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I was very happy to note that your conference went well and will certainly pass on your comments rearding the excellent service from Mark. Mark has worked at this hotel for 38 years and is a great asset to the hotel. I am sorry that you did not find our reception staff as helpful, this is unusual and I will certainly take up the matter with the department manager.
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this excellent review.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Holiday Inn Hotel for 3 days. The hotel is very clean and all the staff are very accomodating. The plus side they got a swimming pool with spa and a gym. We are a group of 11 and we stay are rm 106 to 108 from Good friday till Easter Monday. The place is highly Recommendable and good value for money and we had a good breakfast. We are looking forward to stay there again..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stigs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for giving us this fabulous review, I am so pleased to reaqd your visit was ideal for you and the rest of your group. I also truly appreciate your note that you will be back, we could not ask for a greater compliment. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for one night on 4 May 2014. We found the staff very welcoming on arrival. The room was very pleasant with lovely views over the Solent. The hotel is well situated for a walk to Gunwharf Quays. We liked the hotel very much and whilst we didn't eat there would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Solent have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us this great review. I am so pleased that you found our staff to be welcoming and that you enjoyed the views over the Solent from your bedroom. We are indeed lucky to be placed in such a great location.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Cormac O'Keefe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing