We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset House Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$143
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
201
424
301
111
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
424
301
111
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinegunwharf quaysexecutive roomhealth clubswimming poolsauna and steam roomminute walkthe hotel car parkleisure centresea frontclarence pierisle of wightshort breakquiet locationfamily roomspinnaker towercomfortable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Gentleman on reception was way to familiar. He would stop serving you to take a call and would leave you waiting and then make a joke of everything which i suppose is fine when you don't have a queue but there was a line outside the doors of people waiting. Downstairs is clearly where the money has been spent. Room was definitely not the standard i was expecting and some of the furniture looked like it had seen better days. i had a noisy room with the lift on one side and the laundry room on the other and a bottle bank outside. Restaurant and bar staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee1966Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Lee1966Preston,

Thank you for writing a candid review following your recent stay. Your positive comments about the bar staff is highly appreciated. On the other hand, it is very troubling to read that issues regarding room quality, noise disturbance, and front desk service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you may have experienced.

As a valued guest, please know that we take all feedback very seriously as this allows us to gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We look forward to an opportunity in serving you better on your next future visit to Portsmouth.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were on a coach trip and for two nights it was quite cheap. The breakfast was not too bad but the evening meal was not good at all, I think that it was put on just for the coaches and as we were not paying much they were not giving us much of a selection but for two nights we could put up with it. I think that charging a bit more and putting on a better meal would please some people but I know that others will put up with anything if its cheap enough. the reason we went was the trip was to the dockyard and museums. The room was clean and the staff friendly so it wasn't all bad.!!

Room Tip: Sorry I only saw the inside of mine so I can't say.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaMac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear SheilaMac66,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our hotel. I am delighted that our rooms and hotel staff contributed to providing you with a good stay. On the other hand, your feedback regarding breakfast and evening meals have been taken into serious account. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts about this area as it is our utmost concern to make sure that our guests experience is exemplary.

I hope we get another chance to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed her for 2 nights 12th/13th June 2014. Having read other reviews we went with an open mind as we have stayed in Holiday Inns many times before and never been disappointed. First and foremost all the Staff were helpful and very friendly and made our stay enjoyable, we upgraded to a deluxe room which was well worth the extra money, the Hotel/bedrooms facilities were very smart and clean and the only downside is the size of the small bathroom, which they can't do much about because of the Hotel design and it did not spoil our stay as it had everything you needed. the food was very good and well served. All in all and very nice stay and well recommended, full marks to the Manager and Staff

Alan and Kath Owen

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors facing the sea, the view is outstanding
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0wensyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Owen,

Thank you for your kind review - we were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay so much. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the team, and I will make sure they all see a copy of your review.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Portsmouth - we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards,

Mags
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great welcome at reception. Room had no view but was clean with good facilities and air con. Hotel was let down by the bar and breakfast area. The breakfast area is not large enough. Thanks goodness it was a weekend and I wasn't staying on business because the whole process took forever. We agreed to be seated in the bar lounge area just to get a seat. This area is comfortable but the seats are low for comfort not for dining. There were queues for everything and it was clear that the hot breakfast service was rushed as the eggs and hash browns were barely cooked. I love a nice slice of toast but one machine between 50 ... forget it. In the evening we bought a bottle of wine to share with friends. We found a seat in the busy bar but couldn't find anyone to clear the table. We piled the glasses and cups at one end and forgot them. When they were finally cleared I noticed we'd been there an hour and the bar was closing, so the staff seemed to be clearing for their benefit not ours.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TitaniumTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear TitaniumTigger,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

We pride ourselves in delivering the highest standards of customer service and your comments regarding the breakfast food and service quality and the attention to detail in our Bar and Lounge, help us to continually monitor our performance and make the right adjustments accordingly.

I would like to apologise for some of the inconveniences you have experienced, and I hope that this will not deter you from visiting the Holiday Inn Portsmouth or indeed any other IHG hotel in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to bring these points to our attention and I hope to be able to welcome you soon to our hotel again.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for one night before visiting family in Southsea. We arrived and managed to park in the car park though it was very busy. We checked in and the reception staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was as we expected, fine for our purposes and comfortable.
The breakfast was nice but the staff were very disinterested and not very efficient. I asked the chef for poached eggs and although he was polite it still took rather a long time to get them! The waitresses were slow with tea and coffee and gave impression they didn't want to be there.
All in all we will probably try the hotel again if we get a reasonable deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Holidayqueen3,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed you trip to Portsmouth, however, I am saddened to learn of your disappointment in breakfast. We will certainly be looking into this to prevent it reoccurring.

We do hope that you will be visiting Portsmouth and the Holiday Inn again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.

With kind regards,

Mags
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews