We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Number Four Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The George Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$76
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
201
424
301
111
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
424
301
111
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinegunwharf quaysexecutive roomhealth clubswimming poolsauna and steam roomminute walkthe hotel car parkleisure centresea frontclarence pierisle of wightshort breakquiet locationfamily roomspinnaker towercomfortable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We got a deal on our double room, so only paid half price. Thank goodness! No way on earth that any sane person would be happy paying £200 for a very shabby tired and small double room at a Holiday Inn. Even at half price it didn't feel like a good deal. Travel Lodge or Premier Inn rooms are more generous in dimension, and most likely have newer decor too. The double bed was rickety and small. We booked a room with a pull out sofa bed, but didn't get one. Subsequently we had a terrible nights sleep. It's okay if you time it so that you synchronise when to roll over with your partner, but seriously it was a tiny double! The hotel has a bar and a restaurant, but the restaurant has strangely restricted hours. We came down to get a nice early dinner, as we had a busy day, and were told the restaurant didnt open until 6. Or was it 6:30...regardless, it was very inconvenient! So we left and walked up to town to eat. I was not happy as we were exhausted from travelling, and we couldn't risk driving, as we would then lose our parking spot. The car park is very small and cramped. Places are hard to find, as it is busy all day. I think that nobody dare drive anywhere once they are parked, because if you lose your spot and have to park on the street, it is all metered. Expensive!
The hotel also has a pool with a hot tub. Be warned this is some sort of "health club" and is open to people not staying at the hotel. There were too many children in a miniature swimming pool, so having a nice relaxing swim in the late afternoon /early evening was impossible. Not suitable for people expecting an calm adult pool for business professionals. Plus don't forget your pound coin for your locker! Seriously couldnt believe how un-user friendly that is!
The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is easily the worst Holiday Inn that I have ever been to. Thankfully we only stayed one night. Disappointing!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank miura74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear miura74,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide us with your constructive feedback. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the level of service you have received and if some of our bedroom amenities fell below your expectations. Your review has been taken into account as this is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest.
Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us another chance to provide you with a better stay.

Kind regards
Emily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay in the last few months.

Much the same as in our previous review but a couple of niggles.
Firstly we were unable to get a coffee after 10 pm despite the bar still being fully open ? This isn't good holiday inn ?

And secondly the food served in the bar look atrocious! Glad we didn't experience it personally but groups sat near us looked very underwhelmed at the offerings.
We won't be sampling that if we stay again.

Other than that we had a pleasant stay & found the reception staff far more informative when checking in than on our last visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MillieMiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear MillieMiglia

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

My sincerest apologies for your comments about the coffee and the food. I will most certainly be passing that on to the Operations Manager and our Head Chef. We strive to deliver the ethos 'great hotels, guests love' so to hear comments like that is very disappointing. On the plus side, it is great to hear that the customer service was good for you on this visit.

Thankyou again for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Portsmouth soon.

Kind regards
Emily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The staff at this hotel were excellent from the moment we checked in. The location of this hotel, although just a little outside the main centre of Portsmouth, allowed us a nice walk and time to walk along the old walls of Portsmouth and look at things you would not see otherwise. Great hotel good location. We had 2 children with us aged 10 and 12 and it was a good hotel for them too,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Pat C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the walk into Portsmouth centre. I will make sure your kind comments about the staff are passed on. Our ethos is to deliver 'great hotels guests love' and so reviews like yours make all our hard work pay off.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Portsmouth soon, and thank you again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind regards
Emily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I've stayed in this hotel a few months ago and it was amazing stay and for sure I'll come back to the hotel room was great and I loved the sea view and the location is nice and the staff are amazing and big Thanks for Fernaline in reception she really made our stay special with her warm welcome and hospitality and everything she done for us.

Room Tip: executive rooms have a wonderful sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Neda F

Thankyou very much for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and thankyou for your lovely comments about the staff, especially Fernaline. I will pass that on to her.

Thankyou again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Porstmouth soon.

Kind regards
Emily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The overall hotel is nice and the staff helpful and has a good range of facilities. However we did experience a couple of issues. Booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 young children which when we arrived at 4 pm didn't have the children's bed made-up. Asked reception, who assured us it would be done by 6 ( the guy wrote it down). At 6.45 still not done, reception promised to call housekeeping who did turn up 10 minutes later to make up the sofa bed. Unfortunately the sofa bed unfolded into 2 single beds with a 5 to 6 inch gap between the open frames. My youngest promptly fell down the gap got stuck, and banged his arm on the exposed metal frame. When we told the front desk they noted the issue and said it would be raised as a safety concern.
Breakfast was chaotic, lots of waiting around for plates and food, although good choice when it was there.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Solent if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 321LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear 321LV,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

Please do accept our apologies for the delay in setting up the sofa beds for you. I have checked, and your concern regarding the safety of the beds have been passed on and we are looking into alternatives.

We were also disappointed to read about your experience at breakfast, as this is not to our usual standard. I have passed your comments on to the Food and Beverage Manager and asked him to do some additional training with the team to raise service levels.

Thank you again for your kind review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Mags
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews