We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It could be so much better...but it isnt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“It could be so much better...but it isnt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

I stayed here for one week on business. I have 3 more weeks here and have some concerns. My room was OK. My colleagues complained of too much noise from machinery, lifts, heating systems etc. There is something that starts a loud hum at 3:00 am and if your room is close to it, bye bye sleep.

The rooms are OK sized. Flat screen HD TV is a bonus. Toiletries are very very basic. Shower is good but the bathroom and toilets look a bit tired and stained. The cleaners didnt seem to do a good job. I left a piece of tissue under the bed, visible from any angle. It remained there for the whole week. Towels were not replaced. I was left with only 1 towel on the last day. Breakfast is typical oily fare.

The photo of the car park is misleading. there is hardly any space and very tightly packed.

Has a pool and gym which are OK. Only 3 stars I am afraid, if anyone sells this as a 4 star property then they are lying.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matt66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    364
    262
    96
    45
See reviews for
176
360
39
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We only stayed one night and didn't bother with breakfast as we got a cheap deal without it. Parking seemed limited on site.
Nice room on 4th floor with lovely sea views. Everything seemed clean and there was a modern TV in the room. Nice bed. Staff very helpful.
It is in a good location for beach and old town. A taxi to Gunwharf Quays was only £3 - you could easily walk but it was raining.
Pool looked nice but a bit small for serious swimming.
Although the hotel is not pretty from the outside, we would use it again for a weekend trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkingWithBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Having read some very mixed reviews on this hotel, I was a little wary. But we found the hotel clean & in a good condition. We had a family room which was large with lots of storage.
Parking is very limited, but we brought a permit to park right outside the hotel, on the road for a couple of pounds.
Breakfast cost £9.30 if booked in advance (£15 if not booked!) but was worth it. Huge selection and as kids eat free, £18.60 for a family of 4 is good value as there was no need for us to eat lunch.
The pool area was great for our needs too, although for someone wanting a serious swim, it probably wouldn't be deep or long enough. I even managed to get a little bit of down time in the sauna by myself.... bliss!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lerryn808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

Stayed there on a special rate and for that price, the hotel was good value. Very good location just a few minutes walk from the sea front.

The room was a little dated but comfortable. Housekeeping was generally good with a few minor exceptions - an unpleasant brown stain under the waterline of the toilet, insufficient towels put out on the second day, no tissues on the second day and insufficient milk on the tea tray.

Breakfast was good value at £9.50. The normal buffet. Food a bit dried up on day 2 (as is often the case with buffets!).

Staff were polite and efficient, though there seemed a lot of them standing around and chatting rather than being proactive or busy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

A little bit tired, but very busy, so trade must be good. The hotel was perfectly acceptable- comfortable room, which was quiet until about 4.00 am on New Year's morning, when every guest in the hotel must have decided to (loudly) go to bed!

The decor appears to have been stuck in the 80s, and could do with a makeover, but we had no real complaints. The room was warm and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - a real choice of buffet, despite the large numbers of people staying at the hotel. Staffing was stretched, which was the result of a combination of both illness and staff holidays, but those who were working were dashing about frantically trying to please everyone, and generally succeeding.

The situation is good, just a short walk to the sea, or to Southsea shopping area, and it would make a good base for seeing all the sights of Portsmouth, at very competitive rates for a city centre.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

We booked this hotel as part of a wedding party. The wedding was amazing. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't match up.

The reception, lounge and restaurant areas are newly refurbished, airport hotel-smart and clean. The buffet breakfast was the usual standard.

Our rooms were on the first floor, in a rather shabby corridor. There was a bit of a pong in my room and after a bit of investigation, I found good-going damp behind the curtains. This was after midnight so I didn't jump up and down. The shower in the bathtub had actually come away from the wall behind it and quivered gently when it was turned on. The bed itself was clean. I won't be going back to a Holiday Inn if I can help it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Oakleigh, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Very ordinary Hotel a rip off for the price.
Toilet door did not shut properly, heating towel rail in bathroom disconnected (2006). TV remote did not work properly.
At breakfast plates not clean, the ones that were clean on top had scum on the back, tea cups had scum inside.
Not enough staff, rang reception on three occasions never answered, eventually went down to reception told they (one person) were to busy to answer the phone "we have been flat out".

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing