We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant experience”
Review of Fin's Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fin's Bar
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A great bar that does good honest food to enjoy over a pint, a very reasonable prices.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

First impression....untidy, dull, dirty, depressing.
Food.....really not good, I had a discount voucher with groupon & even at the discounted price it was bad. If it had not been prepaid I would have refused to pay for it.
Service....OK
I decided to keep an open mind after reading mixed reviews. I am now surprised/suspicious at the sudden batch of good reviews??
Sorry but my experience was shockingly poor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    3
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pompey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Food, Beer & Service - Absolutely Sublime!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I fortunately picked up a "Groupon Special" - Bacon/ Cheese Burger with Onion Rings, Coleslaw & Chips, with a bottle of beer, for two = £11.
My good lady is not a great fan of the "beef" in her burger and she kindly asked for "chicken" instead. The gentlemen who served us said, "No Problem!"
The staff were absolutely superb in their hospitality and service. My beef and my good ladies chicken burger were sublime.
Special or no special I will definitely come again, especially for the ambience!
Finally, I felt so embarrassed about the cheap deal and the great night out; I made sure I left a good gratuity!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank billy-the-cheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Had a groupon deal my experience was positive, yes I definitely agree the environment was a bit untidy disorganized looking, but the quality of the food were satisfactory, I don't know if I would return back for lunch because of the interior decor my overall experience was positive it's just the decor the clutter was a bit of putting .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leonor31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I came to Fins for afternoon tea which was lovelythere was a great selection of cakes and sandwiches all washed down with some fizzy! Based on the great experience we had with our afternoon tea I held a baby shower here for my sister and had afternoon tea for 20. The staff were really helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Everybody enjoyed themselves and made comment on how good the food and service were. Afternoon tea here is a must.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie31Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar with Friendly Warm Atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have been to FIn's bar for many different occasions my latest being for my birthday Party, the food was fantastic and fin's bar made it a special night for me :-)

I have used the groupon vouchers there and the food is great, generally very good value for money anyway and good portion sizes.

The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, and the staff are helpful, polite and friendly, the owners are lovely and we have always been welcomed and accomadated.

Oohhh and The cocktails are to die for!

Overall I will definetly continue to keep going back to fin's bar, its a lovely place just off the seafront to stop by for a meal or even just a drink :-)



    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JacsRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fin's Bar also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing