We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Great value.”
Review of Candela Steak House & Wine Bar - CLOSED

Candela Steak House & Wine Bar
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food! Great value.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We love the Bodrum. It is great value for money as it is delicious and the portions are generous. We have tried the Agora and the Istanbul and still find the Bodrum to be the best. The Meze are generous and very tasty and the mixed grill is a personal favourite. It can be a little empty so weekends seem to be the best day to go if you want a little more atmosphere. We will continue to go to the Bodrum!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezzar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food not bad but a bit empty”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We visited this on a Thursday night. Perhaps not the best night as it was empty the whole time we were there. No complaints about the food but wasn't amazing either. Inside was well decorated however it needed a bit of a buzz to get it going.
Waiter tried but there appeared to be language problems and he didn't get my attempts at light hearted banter.
Perhaps I caught them on a bad night. I would like to think so.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigSiouxiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea, Hampshire
1 review
“Consistently great food”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I have eaten here a number of times on our own and with friends, on special occasions and spur of the moment when we cannot be bothered to cook. The food is always excellent and great value. My favourites are the Homous, Sigara Borek and Chicken Shish but my husband tries something new almost every time and is never disappointed. Whenever we have family and friends visiting from out of town we bring them here and we always get great feedback - and some of them are very fussy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monz456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brill !!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent after eating in many Turkish and Greek resturants in London . We were taken here by a taxi driver !!! As we are not from Portsmouth . So thanks to him we found bodrum lovley staff all family great service and the best Turkish food I've had outside London !!! I don't understand the reviewer who said the food was salty and smelt I'm glad it does it shows it was properly seasoned some people are so wrong I say go up to London !!! U will c how good this place is

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davec507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Mid week dinner”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Popped in for dinner and was very impressed. Food was excellent , had the mix mezz starter for two in the vegetarian option and I had the mix grill which was massive. Service was polite and very friendly will be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Candela Steak House & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing