We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect break @ a perfect hotel!!”
Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
G! Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect break @ a perfect hotel!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Just come home from a superb two nights away. Can't thank G! boutique enough. Having driven the couple of hours to Portsmouth we were greeted by a very friendly Will who checked us in. We went up to our room Gloating You Are Not Here! An amazing room with.. With the biggest bath/jacuzzi I have ever seen and a round bed!! Decor was lovely too and very clean. For lunch we went to Restuarant 27- will definitely be going back there. In the evening after dinner at Nicholason's a little tapas place 5 min walk away, we went downstairs where the lovely Gemma made us cocktails.. We had perfect stay at G! Will definitely be going back.. Thank you to all the staff.. Especially Gemma.. We were made to feel sooo welcome... Thank you, thank you...Allen & Nital Shah x

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased you had a good stay with us and that you felt looked after. I know all of the staff really enjoyed meeting you and having you stay at G Boutique - we hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    100
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
515
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Wow ~ what a fantastic Hotel in a great location. Friendly helpful staff, clean and welcoming décor with a difference! We booked in for our Son's Graduation. Three generations stayed and great time was had by all. Rooms are stunning and something to suit everyone. Only comment that may need to be addressed is the towel racks were a tad high for some. As said all clean and comfortable with quirky touches that make you smile. Breakfast was also spot on and all requests accommodated. The bar of an evening also a great space and fun was had. So from the 'Welcome Cupcakes' in the rooms a very nice touch, to the 'Goodbye Journey Home Goody Bag'. Thank you Kay, Eli, Jason and the other lovely staff we met at breakfast and the room change team. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Speak with G! and advise of the type of room likely to be preferred style and location-wise and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

It's great to hear the team looked after you and made your stay all the more better. The staff work hard to make sure all our guests are happy, so to read your review is very rewarding.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write this amazing review and we look forward to welcoming you back to G! Boutique Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

As the title suggests I certainly was. Lovely girl on reception when we arrived who explained every thing to us and was really smily and friendly she even told me where to find the button for the TV which was in the end of my bed! Lovely decor and spotlessly clean my only comment would be that the bathroom was a little small BUT it was perfectly useable and clean/modern, I understand the property is a converted Victorian house and so it's all part of the charm. Loved the cupcake in my room nice touch! And breakfast was lovely too, really tasty and a great selection, the team will do pretty much anything you ask for so that's nice and without making you feel like a nuisance. Oh and when I left I got a bag with a bottle of water and a cereal bar for my onward journey which was a nice touch! Overall I loved my stay which was for work, but I have already booked another stay for pleasure! I can't wait to take my girlfriend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the staff looked after you.

It's great to see you enjoyed the little touches we have in place and we all very much look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed for one night in the glamorous room and staying there was a lovely experience all round. The décor is quirky and stylish, the staff were lovely and very helpful and we had a great night sleep because the bed was extremely comfortable. We had no problem with noise, the shower was powerful and the products smelt nice. We parked on the road outside which was fine. The location was ideal, five minutes from South sea prom and beach. Breakfast was tasty and we loved the complementary cupcakes in the room! Will definitely go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Rhian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It's great to hear you loved everything, from the staff to the breakfast. it so lovely for all the staff here to read a great review like yours, so thank you very much.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We just spent a night at the G! Boutique and I felt inclined to set up an account on TripAdvisor just so I could lend my voice to the cacophony of people who are saying just how good this place is.

We're expecting our first child in a couple of weeks and so wanted to go for one last night away before everything changes forever! As soon as I saw the reviews and the photos of G! Boutique on TA, I knew this was the place for us. An explosion of quirky luxury crafted with an eye for an astonishing level of detail, it was obvious the love that had gone into creating something a bit (or rather a lot) different for those of us who see chain hotels as functional rather than desirable. I immediately booked one of their three luxury rooms (got a great deal on a Sunday night) and we were lucky enough to be put in Glad To Be Here, a beautifully appointed room with a comfy, ornate four poster bed, and a stunning bathroom with a freestanding bath and a double shower. I didn't tell my better half where we were going because I didn't want her to look up pictures of it before we got there and the effect was apparent: she teared up (tears of joy I might add!) as soon as she saw the room.

You can see pictures of all the rooms on their website and each one is striking and individual in its own right. If you go to the hotel's Facebook page, there is an album that shows what the property looked like before it was transformed into what it is today. The amount of vision that the owners must have had and indeed needed to create the G! Boutique defies belief.

On top of all this there are the touches that many others have mentioned in reviews before me: the welcoming cupcakes when you get to your room, the snack bag for your journey home, the tasty and generous breakfast. But despite all of this, one of its main assets has to be the staff. We chatted to the owners as well as the girl who was working in the restaurant in the morning and the breakfast chef extraordinaire (who was later manning reception as we checked out). Every single one of them was a credit to the establishment.

I've been lucky enough to stay in some nice hotels over the years, but none as friendly, photogenic, and stunning as this. This is definitely our kind of place. We managed to sneak a look into the room next to ours as the door was open when we went down for breakfast (the occupants had obviously checked out earlier). This was Gloating You're Not Here, which features a round bed so big that the pictures don't do it justice, and a magnificent raised double jacuzzi in the bathroom. Once our kiddy is old enough to be left with grandparents for the night, we will be back to stay in this room!

A massive thank you to everybody at the G! Boutique who helped to make our last night away before parenthood takes over our lives a memory we will hold onto forever. Here's to somewhere that dares to be different!

Room Tip: Check Sunday night rates for good deals - the weekend we went the luxury rooms were not that much mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write this fantastic review.

First of all we would like to congratulate you on your impending parenthood and we are so glad G! Boutique Hotel was able to make your last night away so special.

We are so pleased to hear the staff looked after you and reading your review has been so rewarding for them.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We wish you all the best for the future and look forward to welcoming you back to G! for a catch up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have just returned home from a nights stay in G Boutique, we originally saw them on four in a bed and loved the look of it.
I booked it as a surprise for my husbands 40th.
I'm not sure where to start but it is absolutely fantastic, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and more like friends than just guests.
Our room was great and all the little touches make it even more special. The birthday ballon and banners was a nice surprise for my husband. The chocolates and cupcakes are a great touch.(and birthday card to).
The decoration all around the hotel is fab. Love the lounge, the coffee and cake is a nice extra.
We have to say thank you to Will, he made us feel at home and his cocktails are good too. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice and cooked well.
Thank you once again to everyone at G Boutique for making our stay so special, will definatley be back would stay tonight if we could.
You really should stay here you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatedarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the little touches made your husbands birthday special.

It is great to hear the staff looked after you, especially Will. It is very rewarding for all staff to read wonderful comments like yours, so thank you so much.

Thank you once again and we can't wait to welcome you back to G! Boutique in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were given this night away by family to celebrate our 25 th wedding anniversary, we had watched four in a bed and was delighted that by chance we had been booked into G Boutique. From start to finish we were overwhelmed, we stayed in 'glad to be here' and we certainly were. The room was spotless and oh so beautiful and the bathroom out of this world. The staff couldn't be any more helpful and the wine, cakes, chocolate and card were so thoughtful. We opted for breakfast in bed and thoroughly enjoyed it, the going home bag was another lovely touch. Can't find a bad word to say and would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and the little touches we have in place made it all the more special for you.

It's great to hear the staff looked after you, and on a special occasion like yours, you certainly can't say no to breakfast in bed.

We are so glad your anniversary treat was so special and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Property: G! Boutique Hotel
Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — G! Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing