We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, friendly and enjoyable stay”
Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
G! Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We only stayed one night at G! but the time spent there was very good. The overall atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. We arrived about 9 pm and ordered a drink from the bar and took it into the lounge with its 'hanging' see-through chairs. There was a large cake, toffee apples, coffee and bars of chocolate - to which you could help yourself. There's lots of quirky furniture, black carpet, bright purple and white décor. Each room is decorated in a unique and different style, with rooms having names beginning with G rather than numbers. Rooms were comfortable and clean - only criticism of our room would be to have done away with the bath and just had a shower cubicle as it meant the toilet was a very tight fit - but that's all we could fault really.

The breakfast room was bright and cheerful and the food was fresh, cooked well, and the service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

When we left, we were given a bag with water and cereal bars to take with us on our journey - nice touch.

The situation of G! is great too as it's just round the corner from the seafront and a lovely park with a play area and fitness trail for children. Lovely for early morning walks along the beach. Easy parking too. Also very convenient for getting to Portsmouth's Historic Dockyard and other tourist attractions.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It's great to hear you enjoyed breakfast and the staff looked after you, and that you like the going home bag as well. All the staff work hard at G! to ensure our guests have a memorable experience, so it's great to see the little touches were noticed.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights for the Great South Run. The staff were incredibly helpful and nothing was too much bother. We stayed in the room called 'Gorgeous' which was just what it was. Very clean hotel. The bus stops right outside the hotel and goes to Gunwharf every 15 mins or so so it was ideal. Breakfast was good with everything available and nothing too much bother if you wanted something different!
A quirky, quiet, clean and friendly hotel. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey8090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The staff here at G! Boutique work very hard to ensure all our guests leave relaxed and happy, so its very rewarding when we read a review like yours. Thank you we really do appreciate it.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

we had the most fantastic time at g boutique hotel room was out of this world
the staff could not have been any more friendly than what they were all questions where answered and service was great
breakfast was fantastic cooked fresh and there pepper butter was out of this world

Room Tip: if you like a jacuzzi bath have gloating your not here or giddy with delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It is great to hear the staff looked after you and you enjoyed breakfast and the salt and pepper butter.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

stayed for two nights last week, actually saw it on four in bed the night before, where they won the best b and b on that programme, it was definately worthy of winning, staff so helpful and friendly, hotel so chic and funky, purple theme going on, loved the whole package, breakfast to die for, overall the experience was well worth the visit, and definately recommend it, and want to go again

Room Tip: book in advance, we were very lucky to get an upgrade when booking in, fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

All the staff work really hard to ensure our guests have a memorable experience and it is so rewarding to read a review like your. We really do appreciate it.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

First the positives - very good breakfast, very good service, very stylish public areas.

But in a hotel the room you are in is the key. We were on the lowest floor - we had noise from above and the room itself was adequate but not spacious. The shower was effective without being special.

We have stayed in fantastic B&B (eg Whitesails Stratford) the experience at G! is some way short of that.

Great for 1 night - but we would probably have a bigger room in a chain and get breakfast at a Cafe next time.

We are wondering if Boutique in the name is a bad sign

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Mr Eaves,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased to hear you like the breakfast service and public areas.

I do see you have left a similar review at a neighboring hotel and seemed to have a similar negative experience at their hotel. They, like us are very fortunate to receive very good reviews from their guests, who have loved their stay, so although I completely disagree that 'Boutique in the name is a bad sign' it does seem that a boutique hotel is not to your taste and you would be more suited, as you say to a chain hotel and cafe breakfast. I would like to point out that in any of the chain hotels in Portsmouth, you would however be paying twice the price for a room of the same size you stayed in with us and would of course then need to add the cost of the cafe breakfast on top of this.

We thank you once again for this review and would suggest to you in the future to contact the hotel directly to discuss your requirements to avoid you having further disappointments.

Kind regards

The team at G!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we stayed for 3 nights; nothing was too much trouble for all the staff, and the breakfast was freshly cooked, delicious and appetising. There was fresh cake in the lounge every day ,and as it was my Husband's birthday the hotel staff put fudge and a card in our room- a really nice touch.
we had a romantic room with an enormous round bed , on the garden side which was quiet and pleasant. Parking on site was brilliant. They recommended places to eat and we felt well looked after.
it was well situated a short walk from the sea Promenade, and a bus to the Historic Dockyard stopped right outside so it was well placed for a visit both to the historic centre and the Seaside.

Room Tip: It is on a busy bus route so a room at the back might be good if you are worried about traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and its is great to hear the staff looked after you.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to G! Boutique in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A hotel with a real difference, both in appearance and customer service. Each room is decorated differently around a theme, in some cases with lavish results. Situated close to Southsea beach it is very convenient for the Dockyards and Gunwharfe Quay.

The hotel offers dinner and breakfast (which was great) along with a small bar.

It was the service and attention to detail that really made the difference. Jemma is a real star and genuinely cares about visitors. Little things, like cupcakes in the room to a gift of bottled water and muesli bars on departure all help to make the experience great.

A winning combination and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and its great to hear the staff looked after you. We all work very hard to ensure our guests leave happy and to read comments like your is so rewarding.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at G! Boutique in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: £83 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — G! Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing