We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
G! Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel really stands out! Stayed here for one night recently. Parking is possible on the road or there are a few places at the front of the hotel if you are lucky! Very friendly welcome. The breakfast was very good, cooked to order, lovely fresh toast, tea and coffee. The hotel is superbly decorated, all rooms are themed and colour co-ordinated. Lovely quirky ornaments and design touches. Our room was quiet, warm and clean, and it was good to see a long mirror on the wall. Unfortunately, the water pressure in the shower mixer was sadly lacking - ok for one night. For my taste, the hotel lacks a level of comfort. The only chair in the room was wooden, the floor was oak laminate with no rug, there was no easy chair, not enough space for putting things on especially in the bathroom. Also not a fan of memory foam pillows! However, I am so intrigued by the other rooms, that I will have to put these little irritations aside, so I am sure we will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the decor and breakfast.

We are sorry to hear about the shower lacking pressure, this is something we thought had been fixed, so thank you for bringing it to our attention. We are currently getting the problem seen to as we speak.

We understand that not all rooms would be to your taste and understand that in your opinion you thought it lacked comfort. However, it's great to hear you would love to return and we ask you to please call us directly so we can make sure you are in a different room which suites your taste more.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review, we always strive to give our guests the best experience and appreciate and take on board all comments. Thank you and we look forward to you returning to G! Boutique soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    98
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
506
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Purfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

It looked good when we saw it on TV's 'Four in a bed' when it won after just 2 months of opening. Decided to give it a try as was taking a short break to Portsmouth. Eli, the owner and all the staff were especially friendly and helpful. Rooms were all unique. My daughter and I stayed in the Gorgeous room which was a slightly larger than standard double with beautiful décor. Two of the more expensive and much larger rooms had built in Jacuzzis, which staff happily showed us once guests had checked out, and would be amazing to stay in! Great breakfast with plenty of hot and cold choices and you must try the amazing 'salt and pepper butter' on your toast! Very convenient for Portsmouth town, Historic Boatyard and Gunwharf Quays, as bus stops every 10 minutes directly outside hotel (No.1 bus £3.80 return). When returning you need to get on the bus at the H bus stop. We pre-booked tickets to go to the Mary Rose Exhibition after checking out and staff very kindly offered for us to leave the car parked on the hotel drive while we went in to Portsmouth on the bus. Will definitely stay again if returning to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear the staff looked after you.

One of the main things we pride ourselves on is our breakfasts, and love to send our guests away feeling full and ready for the day ahead, so it's great to hear you enjoyed it especially the salt and pepper butter!!

Thank you once again for your lovely comments, we really do appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again at G! Boutique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

A very friendly, modern B&B. The room we stayed in (the Glitter room) was immaculate, as was the dining room. The breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. My partner and I both had a wonderful nights sleep both nights,as the bed was very comfortable and the B&B was very quiet which was lovely for me as I am a very light sleeper.

The cupcakes on arrival and the little goody bags on departure were an excellent touch, as was the personalised welcome letter in our room on arrival, telling us what the weather would be like and which members of staff would on shift if we needed anything.

When we saw there were only about 5 parking bays at the B&B which were all taken, we did panic, however, the entire road is free parking and you can park pretty much right next to the G! Boutique. The road is very wide and not particularly busy, and we had no problems, and we stayed there over the weekend.

Will definatly stay in this B&B again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fair_Metcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We work hard to make sure all our guests feel welcomed and relaxed, so it really is rewarding for all staff members to see you lovely comments. We really do appreciate it.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you back at G! Boutique Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

A great hotel beautifully designed. All mod cons and some large rooms. Nice bar and great breakfast. Staff very helpful. I would recommend this place to stay if you are on the South Coast. Only negative the bathroom did not have a mirror to shave in. Restaurants only a short walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and very much look forward to seeing you back at G! Boutique in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for just one night whilst attending a friend's wedding in Southsea. The room we stayed in was really comfortable and the breakfast was totally irresistable inspite of the hangover from the wedding. The added touches were really appreciated including the cakes in the room and when we left the next day we were given a drink and a couple of snacks for the long journey home. We wished we were staying longer and if we need a hotel in this area again we will definitely go back to this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaqpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and we hope it helped to cure the hangovers! It's great see the little touches were appreciated as well.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at G! Boutique in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuna, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very nice B&B just a few hundred yards from the sea. Bus stop in front made for easy access to the tourist sites. Decor and color were fun. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was very helpful. Rooms were very clean. Bed was softer than we are used to, but we have a very firm foam bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry_Burch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure to meet you and if you are ever back in the UK again it would be lovely to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

What a cracking modern friendly professional B and B. Staff went out of their way. Bus stops outside for the attractions and only £4 for a day ticket. Sea front ver close. Decor excellent. Breakfast delicious. Well worth their stars. Recommended! Thanks to all. We will be back and recommending to friends.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BikerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Property: G! Boutique Hotel
Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — G! Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing