We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The little things and the big breakfast = wow”
Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
G! Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The little things and the big breakfast = wow”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very welcoming on arrival into that beautiful entrance hall/reception. We stayed in a "standard double" which we loved, it had everything we needed and was immaculate. The little cupcakes and tea/coffee was a nice touch with the welcoming letter and the hairdryer in the drawer went down well with the girlfriend ;-)
We thought the breakfast was amazing everything was cooked perfectly and the pepper butter is amazing.
All the staff where so friendly and helpful and the little going home bag was another nice touch.
Would definitely like to stay again and hopefully for a bit longer.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank normsky280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.


It's great to see the little touches have been noticed and appreciated. All the staff here at G! work very hard to ensure our guests leave happy so it is very rewarding to read a review like yours.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at G! in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    99
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
509
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Unfortunately only able to stay for one night. Wished it could have been for a lot longer. Stayed with other relatives last Sunday. G! Very welcoming, very clean, quirky and fun. Breakfasts attentive and first class. A huge Thank You from all family. Your recognition and first place on Four in a bed well deserved

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again, hopefully for longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We would normally stay in a larger hotel but had seen this on TV so thought we'd give it a go. It is a very nice small hotel, with some great features. Modern with a touch of quirky. What sets this apart from larger more impersonal hotels are the owners; We were greeted with a happy face and a lovely welcome, there was complimentary afternoon tea/coffee and cakes in the lounge and once checked in we were taken to our room. We asked if we could see the other rooms, he very happily agreed and showed us around. Each room is completely individual. I had commented that the four poster bedroom (and bathroom) were, whilst not my normal choice, absolutely lovely. Ten minutes later there was a knock on the door offering us a move to the four poster room!! And no extra charge!! How lovely :) The bed was very comfortable (although very creaky!). The bathroom with double shower and claw foot bath had some cute features. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, you're waiting slightly longer because it is all freshly cooked, with undoubtably the best bacon we have had anywhere, but whilst you wait for it you can always have cereal etc. The price we paid was good value for the original room we had. When we checked out we were given a great little touch of a 'party' bag with 2 waters and 2 fruit bars for our journey...How clever is that! All in all we were really pleased with our stay and would stay here again when in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent accommodation at a fair price. Met by excellent, friendly, helpful manager on arrival and enjoyed excellent service and food down in the spotless breakfast area.all staff were smiling throughout our stay. Very close to seafront for brisk walks
Would not hesitate in staying there again
No pool or fitness centre to comment on below

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were totally different in character Very little noise disturbance noticed in our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30yearsmarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

All the staff work very hard here to ensure our guests leave relaxed and happy, so it is really rewarding to read your lovely comments.

Thank you once again, and we very much look forward to seeing you back at G! Boutique soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here at the weekend and it prompted me to sign up here to write a review!
What an extraordinary experience. Walked in and it felt like we had walked into Alice In Wonderland... Quirkily different and unique but all in a good way.
So refreshing to stay somewhere where the decor is chic and stunning with little details that make you smile. Smiling and friendly at reception, beautiful and clean room that we didn't want to leave. Tiny cakes in the room and a welcome letter were great touches. Lovely breakfast served with a friendly smile as well. In fact everyone here is so welcoming!
Going away bag when we left was a surprise too.
Well done on your vision! It works and we will definitely be returning to wonderland!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SukiMaluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for leaving you wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

All the staff here work very hard to ensure our guests have the best experience, so it is so rewarding for them to read your magical review.

Thank you once again and we hope you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel really stands out! Stayed here for one night recently. Parking is possible on the road or there are a few places at the front of the hotel if you are lucky! Very friendly welcome. The breakfast was very good, cooked to order, lovely fresh toast, tea and coffee. The hotel is superbly decorated, all rooms are themed and colour co-ordinated. Lovely quirky ornaments and design touches. Our room was quiet, warm and clean, and it was good to see a long mirror on the wall. Unfortunately, the water pressure in the shower mixer was sadly lacking - ok for one night. For my taste, the hotel lacks a level of comfort. The only chair in the room was wooden, the floor was oak laminate with no rug, there was no easy chair, not enough space for putting things on especially in the bathroom. Also not a fan of memory foam pillows! However, I am so intrigued by the other rooms, that I will have to put these little irritations aside, so I am sure we will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the decor and breakfast.

We are sorry to hear about the shower lacking pressure, this is something we thought had been fixed, so thank you for bringing it to our attention. We are currently getting the problem seen to as we speak.

We understand that not all rooms would be to your taste and understand that in your opinion you thought it lacked comfort. However, it's great to hear you would love to return and we ask you to please call us directly so we can make sure you are in a different room which suites your taste more.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review, we always strive to give our guests the best experience and appreciate and take on board all comments. Thank you and we look forward to you returning to G! Boutique soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It looked good when we saw it on TV's 'Four in a bed' when it won after just 2 months of opening. Decided to give it a try as was taking a short break to Portsmouth. Eli, the owner and all the staff were especially friendly and helpful. Rooms were all unique. My daughter and I stayed in the Gorgeous room which was a slightly larger than standard double with beautiful décor. Two of the more expensive and much larger rooms had built in Jacuzzis, which staff happily showed us once guests had checked out, and would be amazing to stay in! Great breakfast with plenty of hot and cold choices and you must try the amazing 'salt and pepper butter' on your toast! Very convenient for Portsmouth town, Historic Boatyard and Gunwharf Quays, as bus stops every 10 minutes directly outside hotel (No.1 bus £3.80 return). When returning you need to get on the bus at the H bus stop. We pre-booked tickets to go to the Mary Rose Exhibition after checking out and staff very kindly offered for us to leave the car parked on the hotel drive while we went in to Portsmouth on the bus. Will definitely stay again if returning to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear the staff looked after you.

One of the main things we pride ourselves on is our breakfasts, and love to send our guests away feeling full and ready for the day ahead, so it's great to hear you enjoyed it especially the salt and pepper butter!!

Thank you once again for your lovely comments, we really do appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again at G! Boutique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Property: G! Boutique Hotel
Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — G! Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing