We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Portsmouth”
Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
G! Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best place in Portsmouth”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Located in a prime spot for the front and easy to reach Albert Road and the amenities this scores above other places we have stayed in Portsmouth. A huge breakfast that caters for every taste served with a big smile. The rooms are clean and well appointed, with cakes and coffee always on offer. Friendly helpful staff who booked taxis and were happy to chat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and overlook the garden. Check out the lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to seeing you back at G! in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    100
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
515
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Whether you are looking to stay a week or just the night before catching the IOW ferry then this lovely unusual,quirky hotel could be just the tonic, it is modern, minimilst and clean, all the rooms are different and quiet, beds comfortable and all staff are very helpful and friendly. It is a short bus ride to Gunwharf with all trendy shops and myriad restaurants, then if you feel like it, a trip up the spinnaker tower (if you fancy this then get chit! from hotel for your discount).There is plenty of parking and a short walk to the seafront. Have to say although I am not a full time Veggie, the full english veggie breakfast was delicious and filling so well worth a try and would personally go again (and I am not a youngster! ) well done G-staff.

Room Tip: You could try for the four poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for you lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back at G! in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

They were very friendly upon arrival, and the bedroom was very clean and comfortable, the bed was extremely comfy and there was no noise at all, the breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever had from a hotel and I spend 3 days a week in hotels every week! Great place would defo stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Although our stay was last year, the c4 "four in a bed" series feature prompted me to write a review. Faultless service and nice bedroom. Funky furniture. A bit clinical but would appeal to under 30s most in my opinion. Lovely breakfast but suffered from lack of garden view as windows were blocked with wall disguised as garden. Unlikely frontage is misleading, the hotel is imaginatively decorated and furnished. A great place for a short stop over.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Themastersexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments. We hope to see you back at G! in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived early and staff were only too happy to check us in- offering us tea/coffee and homemade cake in the lounge. Room was average in size but superbly decorated and fittings. Couldn't fault service. Easy bus journey to Gunwharf quays which meant we could leave the car in the off road parking. We ate in one of their recommended restaurants which was great. Breakfast - lots of options and available in your room if you want. Water and snack provided for journey home which was also really appreciates. All round greT experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back at G! in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for a two night stay in Portsmouth. It was amazing! Absolutely without a doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in! The room (Glad to be here) was spotless, extremely comfortable and had a luxurious bathroom. The staff were so friendly and polite and really made our visit. I do love a good breakfast and the hotel did not disappoint! A great range of breakfasts and a continental buffet provided a great choice and the food was of high quality. We had a busy morning and opted to chill out in the hotel for the afternoon. The downstairs lounge had complimentary home bakes and tea and coffee. We were very impressed! We ordered room service for lunch and received a delicious pizza and hot, perfectly cooked chunky chips! The best bit for me was the option to have breakfast in bed! On our second morning we ordered breakfast to be brought to our room (at no extra cost!). It was bliss! We will definitely go back! The G Boutique Hotel has set a very high standard that will be hard to beat!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really do appreciate it.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, we aim to make sure our guests leave happy and relaxed, so read your comments is very rewarding for the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A great hotel with a very quirky theme to the decor. The room was very comfortable and romantic, just right for our Honeymoon. The staff were fantastic and go the 'extra mile' to add little touches that make it feel more personal and welcoming. The hotel has a nice little bar to relax in and the breakfasts were fab. There is not much to do in the immediate vicinity, but the centre of Portsmouth is only a short taxi trip away and there are some nice restaurants & pubs in walking distance. When checking out they give you a little goody bag for your travels home, a lovely personal touch again. This hotel has got a great atmosphere and exceptional service, we will definitely visit again in the future and try some of the other rooms.

A big thank you to the G! Boutique team for looking after us during our Honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your honeymoon was made all the more special.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you back at G! soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Property: G! Boutique Hotel
Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — G! Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing