We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeously quirky :)”
Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
G! Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at this lovely little hotel for one night and really enjoyed our time there. It was pouring down on our arrival but we were greeted with a very warm welcome by the friendly receptionist, and although we were early for our check-in she was very accommodating and we were shown to the quirky but beautifully furnished lounge to wait. We were given coffee with home-made biscuits and chocolate cake which we thought was a lovely touch whilst waiting to be taken to our room.
We stayed in the 'Gushing' room which was quite a small standard double room but nicely done out in white and blue which was very clean and bright as was the en-suite. The bed was so comfortable and the bedding was fresh and clean all making for a good night sleep. There was a wall mounted flat screen TV free WIFI and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities all within the room. Back down stairs the dining room was again fairly small but proportional for the hotel size and was also nicely decorated within their theme with a cute bar and seating area.
For breakfast there was a good variety of hot and cold food offered and we settled for the great' small G breakfast' which was lovely and more than adequate. The staff were efficient,friendly and hard working and the checkout was quick and easy. We were handed a small brown bag on leaving with 2 bottles of water and cereal bars for our journey which was also a lovely touch.
I would definitely recommend this lovely little gem of a hotel and would stay again but for longer next time, as apart from it being a great place to stay it's only a few minutes away from the beach bars and shopping.

Room Tip: If staying longer than one night I would ask for a bigger room as although ours was lovely it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

All the staff work really hard to ensure that all our guests leave happy, so it is so rewarding when we read a review like this.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We would recomend this hotel to everyone. Most importantly the staff make you feel at home the minute you walk through the door. The room was exquisite and the breakfast was perfection, all served with a smile. Cannot fault this hotel in any way. Please try it, you'll be more than satisfied.

Room Tip: The rooms are all named with words starting with g we wwre in gleeful and it was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to everyone.

We really look forward to seeing you back at G! in the future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I was taken to this hotel after my girlfriend surprised me for my birthday. What can I say! It's an amazing hotel with amazing staff. Always willing to help and very quick when ordering drinks/food to the room. We stayed in the Giddy room and I could not fault it one bit! Thank you all for an amazing stay and we will be back soon!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased your enjoyed your stay and your birthday was all the more special.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at G! in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent a couple of nights and was impressed particularly with the service ethic of all the staff (and there did appear to be someone always around to help)
We had a standard double and the room was quite small with not a lot of space between the end of the bed and the table. However the room was themed in an eastern style and the bed linen gold and sequinned! Two miniature cup cakes awaited us on arrival and nothing seemed too much trouble.
Very convenient location with some on site car parking but plenty of street parking available.
Didn't use the bar but breakfast was excellent, freshly prepared and well presented and plentiful

Room Tip: Might be tempted next time to go for one of the luxury rooms, they look stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherHind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back at G! Boutique soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived late in the evening (10pm) after a long day at Goodwood, but still received a very friendly welcome.
Didn't know what to expect as our friends had made the booking, but we were extremely impressed by this quirky hotel. The fun and funky decor was a breath of fresh air. The bedrooms are all decorated differently, ours was all purple and black, very clean and spacious, with a large comfy bed (we even had a TV that popped up from the end of the bed). Little touches like the welcome cupcakes in the room just added to the feeling of being well looked after.
Breakfast was superb, juice, cereal and continental breakfast buffet available, plus your choice of cooked breakfast, all freshly made to order.
We left straight after breakfast (just a shame we didn't have a chance to stay longer) and on departing were handed a small bag with bottled water and snack bar each - they couldn't have been more helpful if they tried!
Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s4ffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and very much look forward to welcoming you back to G! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent welcome from Gemma, loved the spacious sitting room with tea and coffee. Had a standard room which was modern, clean with nice design touches. Bathroom was a little dated but very clean and perfectly functional. Breakfest was very good in nicely designed room.
Loved the little touches like mini cup cakes in the room and water/snack bar on check out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giant56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Excellent welcome from Gemma, loved the spacious sitting room with tea and coffee. Had a standard room which was modern, clean with nice design touches. Bathroom was a little dated but very clean and perfectly functional. Breakfest was very good in nicely designed room.
Loved the little touches like mini cup cakes in the room and water/snack bar on check out.

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the little touches we had in place.

It was lovely to meet you and we hope to welcome you back to G! Boutique in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Second time we've stayed at this hotel. Great location and really friendly staff. Little touches like the cupcakes in the room and a selection of cakes in the TV room add to the great things about this hotel. My wife had special dietary needs with her current cancer treatment so we rang about a special breakfast. when we went down the chef came out and discussed her needs further and prepared an excellent meal to suit her needs. We will definitely stay again as it is close to our daughters flat but mostly because the staff and facilities are first class. Well done Eli for managing such a great team.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review we are so pleased you enjoyed your return stay and that everything you needed was catered for.

We can't thank you enough for your great review and we certainly look forward to seeing you back at G! soon,

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
962 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: £73 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — G! Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing