We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday present ”
Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
G! Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
portsmouth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Birthday present ”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on my birthday and chose the gloating you aren't here room simply because of the jet spa, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and on arrival we were impressed with the decor and what they had to offer in the lounge room drinks and frozen Sorbet just what we needed on a hot day.

Our bedroom decor was funky and stylish we had a round bed which was huge and the stars on the ceiling was a nice touch, the spa room was huge and was lovely to have a cool cold spa bath before we went out and when we came in to cool down, the hotel provided wine and cupcakes and a little bag of sweets followed by a birthday card ( how lovely is that ) was very impressed with this boutique !!
We had a full English breakfast in bed and it was lovely, only complaint I have Which is no fault of G boutique is the weather, it was so hot and obviously for safety reasons the windows don't open very wide but we were provided with a fan but it didn't do much except flow hot air around the room.

All in all we had a lovely time and we will return , thank you for making my birthday extra special.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aimienice4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your great review, we're glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

The sorbet is a new addition to the hotel and it has been going down a storm, it is perfect on a hot summer's day.

Your birthday celebrations seem to have gone well and we are most pleased you enjoyed all the extra birthday touches we added for you.

We can't wait to see you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Team G!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    99
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
509
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely small hotel, with amazing rooms, lovely staff, free parking and a very personalised service. We were delighted to find that we'd been upgraded to the Glad to be here room, and wow, it was like a mini suite in a top 5 star hotel! We had complimentary cupcakes on arrival and a gift bag for our journey home. The public areas were stunning, and honestly the photos on the website don't really show how wonderful the place is. We have already booked to stay again in a few weeks time and will definitely be regular customers here. Food was freshly cooked to order and the choice was better than most hotels we've stayed in! Location near the boating lake was ideal for us, as we like to walk along the prom, but the bus stop was right outside if we'd needed it. Would definitely recommend again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for this glorious review, it has put a smile on all the faces of our staff. We are thrilled you had such a great stay with us and have already made a reservation for another visit.

We take a great deal of pride in our breakfasts here and it fills us with a real feeling of satisfaction when guests compliment us on them.

Thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Wishes,

Team G!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

G! boutique put up my wife, family and friends for a weekend wedding celebration. It was without doubt the friendliest hotel I have stayed in, with lovely front of house staff, fantastic cooked to order breakfasts, delicious cup cakes on arrival, and attention to detail to everywhere. Nothing was too much trouble for Kay and the team. The hotel is chic, crisp and modern, the rooms compact but very nice and the location ideal for Southsea seafront and local shops. We would definitely recommend it and will certainly go again. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeberAckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your delightful review. We were more than happy to assist in your wedding preparations and we're glad your eye for detail has picked up on all of our little extras.

Thank you for your recommendation and we are all looking forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,

Team G!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had booked this hotel for Sunday night. It was very clean, tidy and quite quirky with its furnishings. The staff were helpful and friendly. The had the room 'Glad to be Here' with a 4 poster bed. On arrival there was a small cup cake each in our room which was a nice touch. It was comfortable and we had a good night sleep. The bathroom was a generous size but a niggle here was lowish water pressure in the shower. There was still a reasonable flow but it could have been better. I forgot to mention to the staff that there seemed to be an overflow pipe running all night somewhere outside our window - I could not tell if it was to do with the hotel or the neighbouring property. With it being such a warm night it would have been nice to open the windows further but they seem to open a small amount presumably for security reasons. Breakfast was okay -we had some cereal followed by homemade granola which was pretty good but we were in a hurry to get to the ferry so we had to have a quick breakfast.
Overall, a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackdog400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review. It seems you enjoyed the 'quirky' nature of our decor, which is something that really does make G! Boutique a unique place to stay.

For security reasons some of the windows here do not open fully, fans our available for our guests to help with air flow issues and we would certainly be happy to provide one for you on your next visit.

We hope to see you here again soon.

Kind Regards,

Team G!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is decorated in a contemporary manner throughout. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms comfortable and clean. The rooms have names not numbers (ours was GOSH). There is only room for five cars in the hotel parking bay but you are able to park in the road without any problems. The breakfast is also very well cooked.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadley94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we do appreciate you taking the time out to write it.

Come back soon for another one of our delicious breakfasts!

Kind Regards,

Team G!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was just lovely. Was shown by the staff into a spotlessly clean that was complete with cupcakes on arrival. The hotel is in a really nice spot right next to Canoe Lake, the little Natural History Museum and Butterfly House and the Beach.

The beds were comfortable and the breakfast tasty with a good selection of options. I personally had the pancakes and bacon with maple syrup which was delicious and was served to us in the most friendly and professional manner imaginable.

Upon our leaving they also gave us a 'going away' bag with two bottles of water and some cereal bars to keep us going on the journey home. Couldn't fault it for attention to detail and excellent service from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! It is great to hear that you were happy with our service and the location of the hotel was to your liking.

It is also great to hear you have noticed and enjoyed the little touches at G! Boutique.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,

Team G!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for one night as we were in Portsmouth for a graduation. Staff were very helpful in advising on the local area and amenities. Room service drinks very good. Service was very efficient but without being overbearing. Nothing was too much trouble. Well done G Boutique !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're glad you were equally happy with both the service and the drinks!

We hope to you again in the future.

Many Thanks,

Team G!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.6 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Property: G! Boutique Hotel
Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — G! Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing