We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should be a lot better”

Toby Carvery Hilsea
Ranked #243 of 716 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hilsea. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Portsmouth’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

staff were average at best -food was ok but not brill - wine was well priced but my husbands beer was awful

Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCHilsea, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Karen,

We do sincerely apologise your experience was not a positive one on this occasion. We never like to see our guests leave disappointed. We will be sharing your comments and review with all of our team here at Toby Carvery Hilsea. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, We do find this very helpful, as we are always looking for ways to improve and move forward.

Again, we do sincerely apologise for your recent visit with us, we do hope this does not put you off visiting us again in the future.

We are looking forward to seeing you again for a much improved visit.

Thank you Karen, have a great day!

Toby Carvery Hilsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to have Sunday lunch. We were told there would be a 20 minute wait to be seated. Usually this would be fine but due to time we said thank you but we will leave it. The extremely rude host who had a bad Paul Weller type hair cut said what you don’t want to wait and laughed. We said no we are short on time. By this time 2 other members of staff had joined him. We said thanks but we don’t have time. As we walked out the door the three of them were talking about us and laughing out loud at us.
It’s the most uncomfortable I’ve felt in a restaurant. Won’t be visiting any Toby if this is how they treat people

Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there David,

I would like to sincerely apologise about your most recent visit with us here at Toby Carvery Hilsea. I can assure you it was never the hosts intension to come across rude or disrespectful. These comments have been passed on and actioned with all of the team who were working on this day, this is to ensure nothing like this happens again in our restaurant.

Again, I do sincerely apologise for this disappointing experience. We never like to see our guests leaving unhappy. We do hope you will be back again in the near future, as we love the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention as we are committed to continual improvement and your feedback helps us to take appropriate action to ensure we are providing the consistently high standards that our guests expect.

The team and I look forward to seeing you soon!


Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Gave this place a second chance after a very poor breakfast, we thought we’d try the carvery. First impressions, poor. We stood at the wait to be seated area for a few minutes whilst the 3 staff had a chat, no acknowledgement of us standing there. Eventually shown to a very small table in the far corner, walking past plenty of empty tables. We sat down for 10 minutes before being asked what we would like to drink, far too long considering the place was half empty. After placing drink orders we went to the servers. Choice of meats was ok, but the veg choice very poor. Do you really need 4 types of potatoes? Actual veg choice was peas, carrots, cauliflower, red cabbage or onions. How about reducing the spuds and adding broccoli, green beans or Savoy cabbage or other vegetables? Finally, charging over £4 for a Can of IPA is way over the type, especially when the choice of ales all bar one was ‘off’. Therefore as with my breakfast review this was a well below average visit.

Thank SouthCoastFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

HI SouthCoastFamilyMan,

We do apologise you did not have a positive experience with us on this occasion. This is very disappointing to read, and again we do apologise you left unhappy. We will be sharing your feedback with our Front of House team to review and improve speed of service. unfortunately, our vegetable calendar is set by our menu team, but we do change our vegetables at the deck monthly. We will be passing your comments on to our Menu team to ensure we can improve in this area.

Again, I do apologise, we do not have control over our pricing for our food or drink menu. I can assure you that this is not a common occurrence regarding our cask ales. This should never happen, we normally run with three different ales thorough the year to provide a selection, again I do apologise this was not the case on your visit.

SouthCoastFamilyMan, we really do appreciate you taking the time to leave us this detailed review, we will be using your feedback to ensure we improve for future visits for all of our guests.

Thank you again for reaching out to us, we do hope we see you again for a much improved visit.

Have a wonderful day and enjoy the sunshine!

Toby Carvery Hilsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

At less than a KFC box meal you can’t go wrong, food was great as usual from Toby! Service was very good and pleasant, what else can you expect

Thank Leighton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Leighton - you are right. You can't get better elsewhere for the prices we offer (much better than KFC!!)
Have a great day and we'll see you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Roast really enjoyed, although didn't lick the plate as is rude too. Pork, Turkey and Beef, roasted patties (although I like crispy was still nice), sweet potatoes + potatoe slices, onions in gravy and cauliflower cheese with mustard gravy. Delicious. Dad didn't enjoy his as usual.

Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Hey Arthur, so glad you enjoyed your meal with us (we don't mind if you want to lick the plate!)
How come your dad didn't like it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Hilsea also viewed

Rowlands Castle, Hampshire
 
Climping, Arun District
Bosham, Chichester
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hilsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing